We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't sleep here if you want to sleep safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Apartamento Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't sleep here if you want to sleep safe”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Initially I liked Crown Apartmento Hotel, but after an incident, where somebody almost broke into my room at 2am in the morning and the appalling reaction to this from the hotel I can only say that I DO NOT RECOMMEND this place to anybody who wants to sleep safe in Accra. After the incident, I realized that the balcony doors, even if locked from the inside, can be opened and unlocked from the outside. I reported this immediately to the reception and the management but the response was not very encouraging. Considering, the rates the hotel is charging the lack of safety is absolutely appalling

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kuki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Surprised to read any bad reviews of this hotel have visited twice in two years and going back soon can't wait.
Staff very friendly - food beyond excellent - so much so we headed back most days for lunch as well as the evening meal. Only issue was by day five we (6 of us) had drank all their Star Beer.

Rooms always clean and well appointed - cant reccommend too highly!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

When you need to stay a longer while in Accra ( Ghana) you do not have much choice. There is virtually only one hotel that has appartments, with more then 1 bedroom. That is the Crown Appartemento ( Italina owned one says, but no italians to be seen) hotel. From the outside it looks real nice, with palm trees on a miniscule garden with pool and well painted ( orange..) The appartments are spacious and not too bad for local standards, furnished. However the breakfast, restaurant and service in general is so extremely bad, one wonders if the hotel is managed alltogether. We have in months never seen the so called "manager"( if there was one) and complaining about anything was simply useless. At the reception, there is one usefull gentleman, Kelvin, all the rest of the staff is simply not worth asking anything, what so ever. For a longer stay, with own cooking in the appartments kitchinette it might be bearable, but not for anything else. Laundry machine was broken for over 3 weeks, so then there was simply no laundry: we were advised " to go to a Lavomatic" ;...what a hotel, what an experience...and all is slower then slow! Further at the pool there is ( for hardly any viewers but the staff themselves) every night footbal on a large screen and at the same time very, VERY loud music, which prevents sleeping. There is a very small free parking, but it is always full with pasers buy, it is not reserved for guests.

Room Tip: Ask for the back, front is too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elsetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Just came from a one week stay at Crown Apartmento with the wife and child. It is a good concept in a nice area. The property is made up of 24 two bedroom apartments. They have a small pool along with a restaurant, bar and conference room. They key to this place is that you have a full kitchen and you are in a safe residential neighborhood. Many embassies are also in the neighborhood along with Nyaho Medical clinic being nearby.

However, I will say that they are a bit overpriced. The interior furnishings and finishing does not live up to the $220.00 per night price. Nevertheless it is Ghana, and in reality the cost of the back up water supply and electric generator is being passed on to you. To be fair, we always had electricity and water. Sometimes the pressure was a bit on the low side but this is expected in Ghana.

The nice staff makes up for lack of high level furnishing. If you are nice with the staff, they will be good to you.

One point of warning is that if you make a reservation, make sure to call them periodically to remind them because in my personal experience, they would have forgot about my reservation if I did not constantly remind them.

  • Liked — Wi Fi access. Kitchen. Pool.
  • Disliked — Living room furnishing and bedroom furnishing could have been a bit better.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank addoesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#15 of 93 in Accra
30 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Elegance
Hotel Elegance
#33 of 93 in Accra
23 reviews
3.6 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#69 of 93 in Accra
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
2.5 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#7 of 93 in Accra
98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#22 of 93 in Accra
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Apartamento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Apartamento Hotel

Property: Crown Apartamento Hotel
Address: 3 Agbamo Street | Airport Residential, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Apartamento Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Apartamento Hotel is a hotel featuring stylish, mostly 2 bedroom apartments in the heart of Accra's most exclusive neighbourhood of Airport Residential Area. The hotel is spread over 3 floors. Featuring 23 individually designed 2 bedroom apartments with full sized kitchens and one 1 bedroom studio, spacious luxury is our hallmark. Our apartments are very well proportioned, and ideal as a hotel room for a couple of nights or as a town apartment for several months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Apartamento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing