We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arch 22

Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Great views from the top, but the 'museum' is woeful and some lighting in the stairs would have been nice

Helpful?
Thank Labtech666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    50
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Worth the small entrance fee and climbing the stairs for the views from the top floors. Some art and history displays to look at. The building is poorly maintained, watch where your stepping and take care on the stairs. Not one for very young children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Barely worth the bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The grandiose Arch was built to commemorate the coming to power of H.E. Sheikh Professor Alhaji Dr. Yahya A.J.J. Jammeh,
President of the Republic of The Gambia and Commander-In-Chief of the Gambia Armed Forces.

In a country that has so much poverty, this structure seems both unnecessary and ill-advised.

Tourists can ascend the Arch in a lift. There is a moderately-interesting museum near the top and you certainly get some good views over the town and surrounding countryside. However, there are better museums (e.g. Katchikalli) and better roof-top views (e.g. Bakau Guest House), so I really can't recommend this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DougInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Boored me...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Thinking of Arch de Triump, the view is nice but the stairs and interior is so boring...

If you are there.. go for the view and only that..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our roots trip did not happen due to a administrative error, however the CEO Abdul apologized personally and offered for us to go on the next trip for free, however we would be leaving the Gambia on that day. Instead he gave us a free trip of what we wanted to do we chose to go to the crocodile and monkey park with a personal guide and free water thrown in. I would have no hesitation to recommend or use Arch tours again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandapsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arch 22 also viewed

Banjul, Banjul Division
Banjul, Banjul Division
 

Been to Arch 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing