We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabana's beach bar & restaurant

Cabana's beach bar & restaurant
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Banjul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Dinner at Cabanas at sunset was one of the highlights of a very enjoyable trip. We were a large school group and we had a table right by the window overlooking the ocean, it was just beautiful.

There was a wide range of starters and mains, as well as the option of having a few tapas as a main. As a group we probably had pretty much everything on the menu and everyone was very complimentary. The cocktail list was extensive and they looked delicious but unfortunately, with a gaggle of teenagers in tow, I wasn't able to sample them.

The staff were very attentive and friendly, the food came quickly and we never had to wait long to order more drinks. I was honestly stunned when presented with a bill for roughly £7.50 per person for starters, mains and three or four drinks: I actually asked where the rest of the bill was! For the quality of food, service and the location, I'd have paid double that and thought it good value.

We were staying at the Holiday Beach Club and had a lovely walk along the beach to our resort, though we needed torches. It was the perfect way to end an incredible experience both for myself and my students.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    24
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kololi, Gambia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Sets a new high standard others should follow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had visited numerous well known bars & restaurants in the Gambia but in most I felt uneasy owing to the indifferent service, bolshie staff, blaring music, indifferent food & constant threat of theft. Then I found Cabana, a surprising & unexpected gem. Having located this bar some distance from the highway, down a dirt road I encountered a modern well run establishment with high standards. Quality food, cold drinks & efficient & well trained staff with the right attitude. The view of the beach (& a curiously empty seascape) is lovely being devoid of the usual 'chancers' & mongrel dogs loitering outside other beach-side establishments. There are no undesirables inside either. The manager & owner made themselves known to us & were extremely welcoming & polite. I was so impressed with the whole experience that I just had to remark "am I still in the Gambia?". Worth a visit but be aware the walk back to the road at night is not an activity to be taken lightly, so arrange a reliable taxi home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rightfirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great people....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited most days during our recent holiday to Gambia. Has changed hands since last year (previously Seaview) re-furbed & decorated to a high standard. Wi-Fi & live football available. We had several lunches & all were tasty & well presented. Rosemary the manager was always attentive to her customers & would go the extra mile to please. The lads waiting on were really good & kept us amused. Beach lads (Desmond & Simon) always ensured our sunbeds were right. To sum up, great welcome/food/people/ambience. Already booked for next February so see you all then.

Helpful?
Thank Robbo_2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice out of the way place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Dutch owner. Clean with good staff from the sunbed boys. Nice beach. Very nice new restaurant area, very modern. Sunbeds the best in town. Although drinks dearer than most

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank alix c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is a little hidden but well worth a visit. The owner and staff there are so friendly, really would do anything to ensure you have a good meal. Food is high quality at good value, and the beach location is ideal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabana's beach bar & restaurant also viewed

 
Banjul, Banjul Division
Banjul, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
Banjul, Banjul Division
 

Been to Cabana's beach bar & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing