We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A walk in preserved nature”
Review of Bijilo Forest Park

Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Banjul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park contains a wide variety of birds.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A walk in preserved nature”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A beautifull walk of 4 hours in one of the National parks in the Gambia. In my opinio it was the most beautifull. You see lots of monkey's. 2 species anyway! The rest of the animals are pretty shy and you won't see much, but there are several snakes and lizards.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NielsHuisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    111
    40
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Feed the Monkeys!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visited with a guide, combined with crocodile pool visit. Pleasant walk through the trees with a chance to get up close to the monkeys!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dpb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Up and close to monkeys”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The forest park is absolutely beautiful even if it may talk a while to see monkeys sometimes it is a lovely area to walk around in, especially when its a really hot day, the trees seem to keep the area cool. The monkeys are absolutely adorable, they can be a bit naughty sometimes by jumping on people (if they have food), they mean no harm, give them their space and they will behave.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonL259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant for adults and kids of all ages.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Bijilo forest park in one word is EXCELLENT. Great opportunity for a seeing the wild monkeys, and getting some great pictures. The smaller monkeys will usually climb on somebody willing shoulders, they are so gentle with the tourists (not always so with each other) I think the park is one of my sons most memorable places, its real close to the strip and very cheap entrance fee so we visited often during our stay, if your lucky you may see another type of monkey or even monitor lizards, after your walk round the paths in the forest there is a small drinks stall with ice cold drinks and a small craft market to view.
Cant wait to return.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ideal for so great holiday pic's”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visit each time we're in The Gambia, worth an hour of your time, next to nothing to pay to get in and gets you out of the sun for a while .different trails to follow we always take green route, the shortest !! ;-) park is kept clean and tidy by park staff, The monkeys, birds, and odd trees are great, PLEASE don't feed the monkeys this has been requested in the last few years ....even though alot of tourist still do. On our last visit the monkeys were jumping onto tourists shoulders they NEVER used to do this, just used to take peanuts fron your hand...would go again as always but would make sure my shoulders are covered just incase

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bijilo Forest Park also viewed

Banjul, Banjul Division
 
Kotu, Banjul Division
 

Been to Bijilo Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing