We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet BUT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
One World Village Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Banjul B&B and Inns
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet BUT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just gotten back from our two weeks stay with my fiancee. The village is a very wonderful place, calm, quiet and the surrounding makes it 'a home away from home'. The caretakers Mustapha, Sirivu and Binta are very friendly and welcoming people...they really made me feel at home!
The only thing i didn't like was; i found it weird and disturbing that in this era we are in, that there is such a guesthouse without Wireless internet services and also Digital television, so in case one had to access internet she had to go to the nearest Hungarian restaurant which i found very uncomfortable. Once wireless internet and a digital television (like DSTV) is installed then it will be more perfect!

Room Tip: The master bedroom downstairs was so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakau, Western, The Gambia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

i stayed here for 3 months, it was home from home, the hosts were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much for them. i had a room at the back of the guest house, very quiet and private. i loved it. it was reasonably cheap and clean, it is just a few minutes walk from one of gambias best beach. would i stay there again, most def yes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahmaria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just got back from a two-week stay at One World Village. I was on a study trip to The Gambia and chose this guesthouse primarily based on price but was surprised at how pleasant it was for the money. Very comfortable bed, clean bathroom and hot water. There is a lovely garden to sit and relax or to sunbathe, as well as a nice pool. The owners were away but Babou and Mustapha who work there were always helpful and kind, giving up their time to show me around.

The location is very close to a lovely beach and offers a relaxing, tranquil environment. That said, there are also many bars and restaurants within a short walk and plenty to do in the evenings.

The owners clearly care about the environment and the local community and One World is a refreshing change from more mainstream hotels. I would definitely stay here again. 5/5

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

One World was a nice space, great value for the cost. The hosts brothers were excellent and took good care of us, taking us around to markets and other necessities. It is in a great location close to the beach, but as in any place around Banjul, it is necessary to drive to see all of the markets, museums, and other attractions. Once they install the AC (for the hott months it is not for the faint of heart) and do some upgrading to some of the baths, it will be perfect.

Room Tip: Bottom front corner room has good fan and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawasawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The house was "okay". I did not mind not having air, but several of our group could not deal with fans only. On a scale of 1 to 10 - I give it a 5. The host during our stay were helpful, kind and courteous. Nearby restaurants was a plus. Short walk to a very nice beach.

Room Tip: If you need air conditioning, this place is not for you. Four of our seven spent the last night of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aita P, Owner at One World Village Eco Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Dee,

We now have installed air condition in two of the upper rooms. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We found the Oneworld Village guesthouse walking by and we definitely made a good choise staying there. It's a very peaceful, green, quiet and relaxing place. I liked it very much because it's very close (3 min walking distance) to a beautiful beach in Cape Point where you can take a bath, take lovely morning walks, you can run on the beach,... If you don't like swimming in the Gambia River/sea there is a swimming pool in the lovely garden of the guesthouse. We personally couldn't enjoy it because it was under construction but instead we could use the swimming pool of a Hotel close by.
Aita and Amadou are very friendly, helpful and open people who do a very good job running their buisness. In the guesthouse you can choose between different kinds of accomodation - from standard rooms with your own bathroom, bedrooms with a shared bathroom to a comfortable and good looking appartment/suite all for a very reasonable price. If you want you can have breakfast with a lot of fruit what I personally appreciated very much.
Close to the guesthouse you find a lot of nice and cheap restaurants - just ask Aita and Amadou for suggestions - and you can reach the "Holy Kachikaly crocodile pool" on foot.
I definitely recommend the One World Village Eco Lodge.
Alexandra

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlexandraGanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stumbled upon this lovely guesthouse...How lucky I was! A very warm friendly helpful atmosphere.Nothing too much trouble....humour.....energy....and to cap it all, these lovely people are doing so much good work in the community.....helping local people with school fees....providing a well....building a market......They deserve support....but this is not charity..they are simply worth staying with anyway!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richiewizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banjul
0.0 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One World Village Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Village Eco Lodge

Property: One World Village Eco Lodge
Address: 10 Kofi Annan Street, Banjul 4522, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Banjul
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Banjul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar guesthouse run by a Swedish lady and a Gambian man, who work for supporting the Gambian country people for a more conscious world. Familiar guesthouse just 100 m from one of the best beaches in the Gambia in a quiet and hassle free area where the Gambia river meets the Atlantic Ocean at Cape Point. Long time rent gives discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your One World Village Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing