We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located, clean and friendly!”
Review of Z Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Z Guest House
Ranked #24 of 249 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2013

i stayed two weekends at z guest house and it was lovely. the owners and staff are friendly and helpful, and there's even a sunday coffee ceremony open to guests and friends. the rooms are clean and well-maintained, with TV and hot shower. there is no wifi but internet access is available on a desktop for a small fee. the guest house is close to two museums, and there are places to eat/drink in the neighbourhood. i definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadiancestovatelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Z Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 81 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

A lovely, comfortable, friendly guest-house. This was my second stay in Addis and I chose the guest-house as it was closer to work. Both the owners and the girls who worked there were really friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable with sprung mattress, TV and fridge. The en-suite was fine with a good hot shower. There's a small breakfast room / kitchen / office with internet access. The provided breakfast were good and varied. There was also a garden to sit in and it's in a quiet neighbourhood. I walked at night alone without any problem. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and local minibuses at the end of the street. Also close to museums.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jss359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Being a first timer in Ethiopia without knowing anybody is really a very stressful situation! The owner himself meet me at the airport waited patiently despite of the strong winds and rains. The couple, Tadese and Saudia are very accommodating. They are very much concern for your safety. They treated me as their family ( that's what impressed me most)! It was really a nice place thus I strongly recommend for anybody else going to Addis Ababa! The honest taxi driver Mekonnen and the two girls Tamira ( who prepares the breakfast) Getty ( who cleans the room) and a low room rate, they are the reasons why i am rating Z guesthouse EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmelita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We will recommend Z guest house. A very nice and friendly place.
We felt safe and taking care of the 10 nights we were staying there.

Only one warning - when we arrived it took almost 3 hour to get our visa and check out from Bole Airport. Print out Z guest house`s tlf. no and call them if it takes a long time in the visa process. The airport pick up had left when we final came trough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaj190502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

To begin with - There are hotels and there are Guest houses. If you stay here while keeping a hotel in mind, you will be disappointed. If you stay here like a house guest, you will be relaxed and enjoy your stay here.

My flight was late and still the owner waited for me at the airport for over an hour, very considerate of him. Since I hadn't eaten in the flight and was starving, the lady of the house cooked me some soup at 11 pm - it was a very warm gesture on her part and speaks high volumes about the hospitality.

The Sim card rental, beverage stocked fridge and breakfast with some excellent coffee are the highlights of this cozy little Guest house where you will find two girls from their staff running around all day and ensuring all rooms are clean and stuff is in it's place.

My single suite was clean & comfortable and the fridge stocked on a daily basis.

The Guest house is a 5-7 minute walk from the National Museum ( which is a must visit in Addis) and public transport is abundant in that area.

There is a grocery store just outside the Guest house that will take care of most basic requirements.

However, if you are on a business assignment/need to consistently check emails - the internet access is an issue since there is no wi-fi but a central desktop on which internet can be accessed. Also, the water supply can be a bit inconsistent ( maybe my room only) and both the Internet and water supply are standard issues that you will face in most guest houses across Addis.

Since most people visit Ethiopia for personal reasons and not for business, internet connectivity issue might not be significant.

The family suites are excellent value for money and are spacious as well.

Since I grew up in a house with pets, I am quite used to the barking sounds but if you are a light sleeper I would recommend taking ear plugs along since the dogs around the house like to have conference calls at night :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Z Guest House is one of those family run guest houses which make you feel comfortable and welcome; a great base to explore from and return to, We slept in one of the smaller cabins at the back which are perfect for single or doubles staying for shorter periods. The guesthouse has howver also bigger appartments with full emmenities.
2 things stood out and made this guest house for us the best place in Ethiopia: 1) the very friendly owners who never tire to do what they can to make you comfortable. 2) a great garden which is the perfect place to enjoy breakfast, a book or a nice conversation.
On the practical side you could argue there are better guest houses with more central locations. Indeed this guest house is a bit off the main areas for eating and going out, allthough Piazza is close by. Also it is quite a ride from the airport. But these are minor drawbacks. After all, when you're comfortable with the blue donkey you can get anywhere for a small sum.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great place to start your visit to Ethiopia to acclimatise.... and wonderful place to come back at the end to catch your breath. Peaceful setting; attentive staff; clean rooms; reasonable prices; internet and phone; laundry. Most importantly, Abba and staff take a personal interest in their guests, offer a genuine welcome on arrival and can provide local info.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aginippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Soramba
Hotel Soramba
#84 of 120 in Addis Ababa
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 120 in Addis Ababa
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#21 of 120 in Addis Ababa
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Semien Hotel
Semien Hotel
#77 of 120 in Addis Ababa
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Biruk B&B Addis Ababa
Biruk B&B Addis Ababa
#12 of 249 in Addis Ababa
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tegen Guest Accommodation Hotel
Tegen Guest Accommodation Hotel
#27 of 249 in Addis Ababa
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Guest House

Address: Kidist Mariam towards Afincho Ber | Near Nazreth School, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $22 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Z Guest House gives you a clean, quiet, comfortable and affordable alternative to the expensive hotels, with daily, weekly and monthly rentals. Cook and eat whenever you want in our kitchenettes, just like you do at home! We offer furnished apartment suites and single room suites. Amenities include free airport pickup, free wifi, free breakfast, satellite TVs, beautiful garden, laundry services. Best value for your money, guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
z Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing