We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Z Guest House
Save
You added Z Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 178 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A lovely, comfortable, friendly guest-house. This was my second stay in Addis and I chose the guest-house as it was closer to work. Both the owners and the girls who worked there were really friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable with sprung mattress, TV and fridge. The en-suite was fine with a good hot shower. There's a small breakfast room / kitchen / office with internet access. The provided breakfast were good and varied. There was also a garden to sit in and it's in a quiet neighbourhood. I walked at night alone without any problem. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and local minibuses at the end of the street. Also close to museums.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jss359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
27
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berbera, Somalia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Being a first timer in Ethiopia without knowing anybody is really a very stressful situation! The owner himself meet me at the airport waited patiently despite of the strong winds and rains. The couple, Tadese and Saudia are very accommodating. They are very much concern for your safety. They treated me as their family ( that's what impressed me most)! It was really a nice place thus I strongly recommend for anybody else going to Addis Ababa! The honest taxi driver Mekonnen and the two girls Tamira ( who prepares the breakfast) Getty ( who cleans the room) and a low room rate, they are the reasons why i am rating Z guesthouse EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmelita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We will recommend Z guest house. A very nice and friendly place.
We felt safe and taking care of the 10 nights we were staying there.

Only one warning - when we arrived it took almost 3 hour to get our visa and check out from Bole Airport. Print out Z guest house`s tlf. no and call them if it takes a long time in the visa process. The airport pick up had left when we final came trough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaj190502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

To begin with - There are hotels and there are Guest houses. If you stay here while keeping a hotel in mind, you will be disappointed. If you stay here like a house guest, you will be relaxed and enjoy your stay here.

My flight was late and still the owner waited for me at the airport for over an hour, very considerate of him. Since I hadn't eaten in the flight and was starving, the lady of the house cooked me some soup at 11 pm - it was a very warm gesture on her part and speaks high volumes about the hospitality.

The Sim card rental, beverage stocked fridge and breakfast with some excellent coffee are the highlights of this cozy little Guest house where you will find two girls from their staff running around all day and ensuring all rooms are clean and stuff is in it's place.

My single suite was clean & comfortable and the fridge stocked on a daily basis.

The Guest house is a 5-7 minute walk from the National Museum ( which is a must visit in Addis) and public transport is abundant in that area.

There is a grocery store just outside the Guest house that will take care of most basic requirements.

However, if you are on a business assignment/need to consistently check emails - the internet access is an issue since there is no wi-fi but a central desktop on which internet can be accessed. Also, the water supply can be a bit inconsistent ( maybe my room only) and both the Internet and water supply are standard issues that you will face in most guest houses across Addis.

Since most people visit Ethiopia for personal reasons and not for business, internet connectivity issue might not be significant.

The family suites are excellent value for money and are spacious as well.

Since I grew up in a house with pets, I am quite used to the barking sounds but if you are a light sleeper I would recommend taking ear plugs along since the dogs around the house like to have conference calls at night :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Z Guest House is one of those family run guest houses which make you feel comfortable and welcome; a great base to explore from and return to, We slept in one of the smaller cabins at the back which are perfect for single or doubles staying for shorter periods. The guesthouse has howver also bigger appartments with full emmenities.
2 things stood out and made this guest house for us the best place in Ethiopia: 1) the very friendly owners who never tire to do what they can to make you comfortable. 2) a great garden which is the perfect place to enjoy breakfast, a book or a nice conversation.
On the practical side you could argue there are better guest houses with more central locations. Indeed this guest house is a bit off the main areas for eating and going out, allthough Piazza is close by. Also it is quite a ride from the airport. But these are minor drawbacks. After all, when you're comfortable with the blue donkey you can get anywhere for a small sum.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 33RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great place to start your visit to Ethiopia to acclimatise.... and wonderful place to come back at the end to catch your breath. Peaceful setting; attentive staff; clean rooms; reasonable prices; internet and phone; laundry. Most importantly, Abba and staff take a personal interest in their guests, offer a genuine welcome on arrival and can provide local info.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aginippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The owners and the two young ladies who run the place can`t do enough to make you feel welcome, the rooms are simple and homely, spotlessly clean with ensuite facilities, television & fridge stocked with soft drinks & beer at a reasonable price, and there is a nice breakfast in the morning. The location is good on a quiet road about a ten minute walk to restaurants and bars and within walking distance to Piazza ect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinhenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#4 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.5 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#32 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
3.5 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bow Hotel B&B
Bow Hotel B&B
#1 of 178 in Addis Ababa
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Guest House

Property: Z Guest House
Address: Kidist Mariam towards Afincho Ber | Near Nazreth School, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Z Guest House gives you a clean, quiet, comfortable and affordable alternative to the expensive hotels, with daily, weekly and monthly rentals. Cook and eat whenever you want in our kitchenettes, just like you do at home! We offer furnished apartment suites and single room suites. Amenities include free airport pickup, free wifi, free breakfast, satellite TVs, beautiful garden, laundry services. Best value for your money, guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
z Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing