We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of tranquillity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Z Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Z Guest House
Save
You added Z Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 178 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Haven of tranquillity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great place to start your visit to Ethiopia to acclimatise.... and wonderful place to come back at the end to catch your breath. Peaceful setting; attentive staff; clean rooms; reasonable prices; internet and phone; laundry. Most importantly, Abba and staff take a personal interest in their guests, offer a genuine welcome on arrival and can provide local info.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aginippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
27
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The owners and the two young ladies who run the place can`t do enough to make you feel welcome, the rooms are simple and homely, spotlessly clean with ensuite facilities, television & fridge stocked with soft drinks & beer at a reasonable price, and there is a nice breakfast in the morning. The location is good on a quiet road about a ten minute walk to restaurants and bars and within walking distance to Piazza ect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinhenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a relaxing time at this wonderful guesthouse.
The owners are very helpful, the garden beautiful and it is a good experience to stay in a residential area away from the tourists.
There are attractions like the university and museums nearby.
I would highly recommend this choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanweinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at Z guest House for one month in November 2012. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and would recommend staying here.

My single room suite contained a double bed, tv, ensuite shower room and fridge.

Accommodation was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, with excellent local coffee.
Guest house owners and staff are very friendly, and willing to help book taxi's travel advice etc.

A home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was almost by accident that I found Z Guest House. This small guest house run by a local family is a perfect spot near Addis Ababa University and the National Museum in Ethiopia. The 3 single rooms and the 2 appartments are really worth it if you have to visit "the Capital of the African Union". Breakfast warmly served, any inconvenience solved, and always a smile!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renatohc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Z Guest House is a great guest house in a great area, stroll to museums, the Lion Zoo, St Georgis, Piaza, Selassie bet and much more. A nice market on the corner.
The couple who run the guest house are very nice and helpfull and the girls who look after the place do a great job.
I have only good things to say about this place and will be staying there again, I have recomended it to others who have stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReubenAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I can highly recommend Z Guest House. No-doubt one of the nicest places I have stayed in Africa and I’ve been around;-)

Cute and clean family business. Reliable people with whom you can put your guard down in a relaxing urban setting. The first day the owner got me a sim card, so I could do my business and helped me with their African connection internet;-)
The owner, Mr Tardezy, recommended an english speaking driver, Mekonen, who turned out to become a good friend making my stay smooth and easy -and having a super fun time. Again a good trustworthy person.
The owner of the guesthouse even helped me get in contact with business contacts threw his family network.

All in all Z Guest House is my kind of 5 star accommodation, because they where able to understand me needs and willing to help me out, so I got the very best out of my stay in Addis.

Room Tip: If you want to feel part of the family, who should ask for one of the rooms inside the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#4 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.5 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#33 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
3.5 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bow Hotel B&B
Bow Hotel B&B
#1 of 178 in Addis Ababa
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Guest House

Property: Z Guest House
Address: Kidist Mariam towards Afincho Ber | Near Nazreth School, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Z Guest House gives you a clean, quiet, comfortable and affordable alternative to the expensive hotels, with daily, weekly and monthly rentals. Cook and eat whenever you want in our kitchenettes, just like you do at home! We offer furnished apartment suites and single room suites. Amenities include free airport pickup, free wifi, free breakfast, satellite TVs, beautiful garden, laundry services. Best value for your money, guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
z Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing