We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful guesthouse in Addis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Z Guest House
Ranked #28 of 211 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful guesthouse in Addis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a relaxing time at this wonderful guesthouse.
The owners are very helpful, the garden beautiful and it is a good experience to stay in a residential area away from the tourists.
There are attractions like the university and museums nearby.
I would highly recommend this choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanweinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
28
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at Z guest House for one month in November 2012. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and would recommend staying here.

My single room suite contained a double bed, tv, ensuite shower room and fridge.

Accommodation was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, with excellent local coffee.
Guest house owners and staff are very friendly, and willing to help book taxi's travel advice etc.

A home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was almost by accident that I found Z Guest House. This small guest house run by a local family is a perfect spot near Addis Ababa University and the National Museum in Ethiopia. The 3 single rooms and the 2 appartments are really worth it if you have to visit "the Capital of the African Union". Breakfast warmly served, any inconvenience solved, and always a smile!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renatohc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Z Guest House is a great guest house in a great area, stroll to museums, the Lion Zoo, St Georgis, Piaza, Selassie bet and much more. A nice market on the corner.
The couple who run the guest house are very nice and helpfull and the girls who look after the place do a great job.
I have only good things to say about this place and will be staying there again, I have recomended it to others who have stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReubenAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I can highly recommend Z Guest House. No-doubt one of the nicest places I have stayed in Africa and I’ve been around;-)

Cute and clean family business. Reliable people with whom you can put your guard down in a relaxing urban setting. The first day the owner got me a sim card, so I could do my business and helped me with their African connection internet;-)
The owner, Mr Tardezy, recommended an english speaking driver, Mekonen, who turned out to become a good friend making my stay smooth and easy -and having a super fun time. Again a good trustworthy person.
The owner of the guesthouse even helped me get in contact with business contacts threw his family network.

All in all Z Guest House is my kind of 5 star accommodation, because they where able to understand me needs and willing to help me out, so I got the very best out of my stay in Addis.

Room Tip: If you want to feel part of the family, who should ask for one of the rooms inside the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We tried to book Z's guest house in december but the manager informed us that it was fully booked but told us that we could stay at an affiliate guest house that was very similar for the same price apparently called D's guest house for the same price of 35 dollars a night. The airport pick up was fine but the accomodation was terrible for the price we paid. The property we stayed at had a different name on the side of the building and seemed at least a further mile down gabreselaasie road than the property shown on wikimap. Leading me to beleive that it wasnt the one we were supposed to be staying at.

Z's guest house is advertised as a cosy friendly house, this place was the polar opposite. The room was dark and tiny and the showers cold, the tv had one channel (etv) though you wouldnt want to spend any time in the room anyway, Breakfast didnt arrive on the first day and was inedible the second day(stale dry bread and very cold, hard scrambled eggs). When we asked where we were supposed to eat breakfast we were told the stairwell. There was nobody around the property, no reception and no outside areas, Also the area around the property seemed quite popular with prostitutes.

We stayed in Addis two times more on our trip and the accomodation was far superior for less money. We are used to basic accomodation but that is not the issue Z's guest house may be what it advertises on its website. But the accomodation we recieved was nothing like that. I emailed Z's to inform them of my opinion of there accomodation and received a very brief acknowledgement and no explanation. Therefore I decided to write this review. So I would say that Z's may well be a decent guest house but be very careful if you are offered alternative accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pyraht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Z Guest House when we visited Addis for the first time to collect our son. Our apartment was very clean and cosy and we felt very safe at the guest house. The family run guest house was extremely friendly and helpful towards us and we become very fond of them over the month we stayed at their house. The gardens here are magnificent - you feel like you are in a little piece of paradise! We would certainly go back. (Melbourne, Australia)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Semien Hotel
Semien Hotel
#73 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Soramba
Hotel Soramba
#81 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#46 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.2 mi away
AREQU Guest House
AREQU Guest House
#3 of 211 in Addis Ababa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheba Guest House
Sheba Guest House
#23 of 211 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Guest House

Property: Z Guest House
Address: Kidist Mariam towards Afincho Ber | Near Nazreth School, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Z Guest House gives you a clean, quiet, comfortable and affordable alternative to the expensive hotels, with daily, weekly and monthly rentals. Cook and eat whenever you want in our kitchenettes, just like you do at home! We offer furnished apartment suites and single room suites. Amenities include free airport pickup, free wifi, free breakfast, satellite TVs, beautiful garden, laundry services. Best value for your money, guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
z Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing