We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good coffee, comfy rooms”
Review of Beer Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beer Garden Inn
Ranked #82 of 286 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The rooms aren't exactly illustrious but they aren't too small. The bathrooms was clean. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful, as were the porter service staff. There is a small business centre with computers and internet. The restaurant is ok. The food is nothing special (pasta and steaks mainly) but the coffee is good. The location is good, in Bole, just down from Edna Mall/Bole Medhanealem. Watch out for pick pockets near the roundabout, it's a well-know place to get robbed by the street kids here! There is a cupcake shop and small mall across the road, the Apple/iPhone shop is also a bit further down. There is a green area out the front of the hotel with a small children's playground. There's a bit of construction going on around the area (as there seems to be everywhere in Addis!) but it wasn't as noisy as I expected it to be.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed here many times during 2009 and 2010 for work. Compared with all the other business hotels in Addis, this is very good value, clean, friendly staff. The showers were sometimes not extremely hot but the staff always came to fix it when I had a problem. The breakfast was very good for Addis standards. And the conference room is also good value and very nice.
The only issue we had for our company was the name of the hotel. I used to use it for every training and conference until our director decided that the name of the hotel was not suitable for high level meetings.
Overall, my favourite hotel in Addis. The pickup service from the airport was always reliable. The restaurant at the beer garden has really nice food. Location is good, near the cinemas, shops, and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tskada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I had a little help findind this hotel, Beer Garden is a very nice hotel enjoyed the stay very much no problem at all, wonderful service and helpful, very friendly.

Room Tip: rooms are nice and quiet, with baconey, weather was very good, no a/c in room, no microwave in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

If you cannot afford Sheraton, Hilton or Intercontinental Hotel, then this hotel is something for you. it is quite close to the airport, it has a nice green area in front of the hotel. The hotel room itself is basic but ok. I paid 112 euro for 2 nights, which is not bad for the value you get. the wireless internet in the room works nicely and is free. the breakfast is not recommendable. We usually take breakfast in the Hilton hotel. It is 20 € but worth every penny! There is a nice cosy German bar next door. yI had some french fries and I didn't really like it too much.
Apparently it is quite normal in ethiopia, but I do have to mention that I found a small cockroach in the shower two nights in a row. not that big a deal either.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasDSandraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We use the Beer Garden Inn for our International staff who are visiting or transiting to our field locations.
We also use the resteraunt for business meals.
Excellent clean rooms and good service-who could ask for more.
I have also reccomended the Beer Garden to friends coming to Ethiopia for touristic visits.

Allan AOE

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
Thank Oilyallanethiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

If work is not paying for your very expensive Sheraton room, you should stay here! We stayed a total of 3 nights at the Beer Garden Inn, while touring various parts of Ethiopia. We had advance reservations, but they were not paid or held on a ccard. We were given a spacious, comfortable room on the 5th floor, with a small patio that overlooked the neighborhood. The room was clean and sunny, with plenty of storage, all of the storage doors came with removable keys. If you've been to other tourist hotels in Ethiopia you will understand my enthusiasm when I say that the bathroom was fantastic. It wasn't big, but it was modern, spotless, with space for toiletries, a really nice shower with full pressure hot water, a shower curtain that channeled water into the basin and not onto the floor, and plenty of towels. Everything worked: outlets, hairdryer, lights. We stayed in 6 other hotels during this trip and the Beer Garden Inn was by far the nicest.
We gave them some really dirty clothes to launder, they washed them overnight, removed a nasty spot off my white sweater and returned everything in a wicker basket, wrapped in linen. It cost a few dollars.
The hotel is off the main road, so taxis had a hard time finding it, especially after dark. The entire neighborhood is being developed at once (about ten large structures) but it was more fascinating than bothersome. Generally there was no construction work after dark. The covered beer tent is in their courtyard, separate from the hotel. While it is lively, the noise didn't filter inside the hotel.
Technically they accept VISA, but the card reader can't always connect for authorization (other vendors suffer from this, too). There is no practice of taking an old-fashioned imprint of your card, you are expected to pay your bill in cash, which we had to do the first time we checked out. So give yourself extra time, and make sure you have cash.
There are plenty of bank machines around town, none of them will accept your foreign issued VISA card (we tried 5-6 of them until we noticed they all belonged to the same local bank). If you need cash after hours, go to the in-hotel bank of the Hilton or Sheraton to get cash advance (we got a much better deal at the Sheraton). Btw. do not accept dirty or torn money. Ethiopians don't like them either, and they'll refuse to take them from you.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blue-Travel-Shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Stayed one night between connecting flights. Outstanding accommodations relatively near airport ... away from downtown hustle/bustle. Yes, it is in the middle of an active construction zone, but this did not distract from a restful yet brief stay. Reception was very professional; the rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. The adjoining brew pub was just what we needed for a refreshing meal. The only distraction (or maybe an attraction) was the paper thin doors separating adjoining rooms. This became apparent when the gentleman next door answered his phone and later when he brought a lady "friend" up to his room for an evening of personal entertainment sometime after midnight.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.6 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 124 in Addis Ababa
141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
792 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 124 in Addis Ababa
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#11 of 124 in Addis Ababa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beer Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beer Garden Inn

Address: Bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 286 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Hotel Class:3 star — Beer Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Beer Garden Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing