We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weygoss Guest House
Ranked #56 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've stayed at the Weygoss twice -- in 2007 when we adopted our daughter and this past December (2013). The staff are super friendly and they've gone out of their way both times to meet our needs. Returning last month was like going back home. The family room is huge. Having a TV was a bonus. Wifi is free and breakfast is included. It's also in a very quiet location, which is hard to find in Addis, where many hotels and guest houses are located close to bars that play music until the wee hours of the morning. One of the staff members even came in on her day off to walk us to a local market so we could buy the coffee ceremony pots (major bargain!) We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent 5 nites here(2 seperate occasions) I felt welcome and at home..the breakfast was plentyful and tastey.
The hotel has a taxi driver(Mohammed)that knows Addis well and is easy to deal with.
I will be returning to Addis in Feb. and will be happy to stay here again

Room Tip: Just look things over and a choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gymatoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Weygoss for 7 nights. It is used by a wonderful range of people . . . We met families adopting Ethiopian children, a UN worker on furlough, people traveling on business, and tourists. It has a front desk staff that are very helpful (they will keep money safe, send clothes to the laundry, and answer questions about finding places). Breakfast is served in the small tv lounge as the front desk is located. I'm gluten free and managed quite well on boiled eggs, cornflakes and tea. My traveling partner ate a greater variety and enjoyed the food. The rooms were small and dark, but they were clean! Having traveled in Ethiopia twice and talked with many travelers, there is almost always something wrong with every bathroom you will see. The shower drips or the toilet runs or there's no stopper for the sink. There were these minor glitches, but they were clean and everything worked.

Bole road has many restaurants, and there is one called Blue Ice across the street. They have burgers. The "Mega Building" is about a half a block down, and there is a small grocery store on the street level. There is also the coolest art gallery that is a restaurant on the 2nd floor. We went there over and over and over . . . We only saw Europeans and Americans there, but we both ate and had wine for about 12 USD. We bought bottled water there and picked up snacks. Elephant Walk is a couple down and they have a full range of coffee, tea, and desserts.

We found the staff to be very wonderful and honest. The most touching moment was when we had moved to a new room serviced by a very young maid. Given the salaries in Ethiopia for cleaning people, I made it a habit to leave 20 birr each morning for the maid. The young maid came back when we returned that afternoon. She said, "Maam. This morning I took this (holding the birr), and then I thought, this is too much money . . . Can't be for me. So, I am bringing it back. I am sorry. I didn't mean to take money that wasn't for me." When I told her it was for her. She hugged me and cried. She kept saying "too much." Conversion rates were about 12 birr to the dollar. She was crying over 1.50 USDollars. Be kind. Many of these people are truly living on a dollar a day or less. The men who sleep outside and work as building guards were earning about $20.

We definitely will stay at the Weygoss again . . . and I will wear my shoes that can be shined daily, and I will tip the maids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelhappy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at each end of our family trip to Ethiopia. We have stayed there previously and the staff remembered us well and were genuinely pleased to see us again. We felt welcomed and almost at home. Security is good, rooms were tidy,. The breakfast provided (basic eggs, toast, juice, coffee) was basic. We stayed in a small suite in the front of the hotel, so lots of room, a decent balcony to view that part of the city. The washrooms are tidy but not spotless.

It is possible in the future the hotel may be surrounded by larger buildings as one high tower is being built nearby. Bole Road is under full re-construction so there was a lot of noise during the day but everything was quiet all night. At least there seems to be good progress ongoing.

The internet worked fine on their machines. No WiFi yet. Although a few items are supposed to be available for purchase, such as pop, beer, and water. One night only water was available. Food can be ordered from nearby establishments, to be delivered, but the wait can be long. There was at least one good restaurant nearby on Bole Rd, however. A basketball hoop and ball, plus a TV in the lobby are the only attractions for children.

We will likely stay here on future trips.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony would be advisable, in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for only one night in transit, and it was ok but not great. The room was small, dark, and had a terrible bathroom, but was clean. The reception staff were a bit dazed and not particularly helpful. However, all up it was decent value and it's in a handy location to restaurants and businesses.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good value for the money. The standard rooms are very small, but the junior suites have ok space for a desk and a shared balcony.
The breakfast is quite basic and the TVs in the room are only for decoration.
In november 2012 Bole street which is the closest main street was mainly a big construction site. This refurbishment is probably going on for a couple of months more, and I would recommend waiting til the dust have settled before booking here again.

Generally a quiet space with a small court with a baseball rack.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonas_Holmq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

With new buildings and hotels being constructed everywhere you look in Addis Ababa you would think the hotel prices would be going down. That is not the case which is part of what makes Weygoss Guest House a hidden gem. With all the construction nearly all hotels in Addis are going to be victim to the sounds and nearly daily less than one hour power outages. As of October 2012, Bole road is undergoing some major construction of its own but the next road over brings easy access to Weygoss.

Weygoss holds to Ethiopian culture with the hospitality of the staff, daily traditional coffee ceremony and traditional designed bed linens. The breakfast beats the continentals more commonly offered with other hotels. They do not serve lunch or dinner but are more than willing to place orders for you to be delivered by some nearby restaurants. The internet is average and the televisions are small but they get the job done. The satellite channels can be changed with the staff if the current selection doesn't suit you.

The rooms have a bit of an old feel and the bathrooms are subject to some constant water dripping. They can also use a touchup and removal of some mold though it is out of reach of anyone using the bathroom. The standard room bed is a double size and can accommodate a couple but do expect to be in contact with each other.

The price, hospitality and location make this a recommended option to those traveling to Addis Ababa. Don't forget to walk all the way up the stairs to the rooftop for some great scenery of the city. I would highly recommend Weygoss to bring a bbq to the rooftop and it would be a wonderful location for lounging, feeling the warmth of the sun and viewing all nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrustyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
3.6 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 124 in Addis Ababa
143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#45 of 124 in Addis Ababa
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 124 in Addis Ababa
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#9 of 124 in Addis Ababa
112 reviews
0 mi away
Afropolitan Hotel
Afropolitan Hotel
#62 of 124 in Addis Ababa
8 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ark Hotel Addis
Ark Hotel Addis
#46 of 124 in Addis Ababa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weygoss Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weygoss Guest House

Address: Bole Road | Next to Mega Building, 2101 Code 1110, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $32 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Weygoss Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Weygoss Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weygoss Guest House Hotel Addis Ababa
Weygoss Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing