We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. Martins Cozy Place

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mr. Martins Cozy Place
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED IT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

We traveled to Ethiopia and stayed at the Cozy Place for nearly 1 month. We had a large group and they were so willing to accomodate us- even when plans changed and we had to end up staying longer. The staff was absolutely wonderful and truely made it such a wonderful place to stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank coupeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    70
    17
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
43
73
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

I lived a year in the highlands of Ethiopia doing research. In the course of that year, I had to make several week-long trips into Addis for camp supplies and data send-off. Mr. Martin's was always my number one lodging choice while there. It's conveniently located in the Bole area a few blocks away from numerous cafes and restaurants, as well as the new Edna Mall. If you don't want to leave the hotel, you can always sit down in the beautiful courtyard with a coffee and book or chat it up with the friendly staff and patrons. It was definitely nice to come back after months in the field to a safe haven where you knew the people and could trust them. I do recommend booking ahead, as rooms fill up fast!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

Over the course of a year doing field ecology research in Ethiopia I spent every restocking/lesuire trip back to Addis lodging in the various rooms of the Cozy Place, in total spending well over a month there. This place blows every other budget lodging option away in Addis. The small courtyard truly is a great place to enjoy a few beers (or a delicious macchiato) while interacting with the colorful and diverse crowd the Cozy place uniquely attracts. Aside from the overall awesome mood of the place, its fantastically friendly and helpful staff make this a home away from home. There is no better feeling than walking through the alleyway and into the Cozy Place courtyard after a long absence. So get to know it and enjoy the beauty and vibrancy of Ethiopia from a peaceful enclave in the middle of bustling Addis. I'd recommend booking ahead most times of the year as word was starting to spread even back in 2008. Cheers, Jeff Kerby

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtkerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

Mr. Martin's Cozy place was clean, affordable, safe, and convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful in many ways. Their food was delicious, and the coffee unforgettable. I will definitely be staying at the Cozy Place when I return to Addis.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davewilliamjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

My husband, 3-year-old son and I stayed at the Cozy Place in December 2008, and January 2009 for about 6 weeks. The last 3 weeks I was on my own there with my son, as my husband needed to go home for work. The Cozy Place was just that ... cozy! The staff there were fantastic, they even loaned me money when my husband's money transfer didn't arrive on time. If we'd stayed anywhere else, we would not have been able to eat!

We stayed in three different rooms throughout our stay, as we did some travelling out of the city, and then came back to Addis. The double room had a huge king size bed, with a desk and wardrobe, most suitable for a single person or a couple. The first Family Room that we stayed in had one double bed and one single bed in one room, plus an adjoining room with a basic Ethiopian style lounge suite and a desk and wardrobe. The other Family Room that we stayed in for most of our stay was the same, but it also had a bar fridge and a T.V. I cannot fault any of the three rooms that we stayed in, they were always immaculately cleaned by the cleaning ladies, beds were always freshly made every day, and not a hint of a bed bug anywhere throughout our entire stay. In fact I saw the cleaners airing out the mattresses in the sun from the rooms where no-one was currently staying.

We had the ladies do our washing every day, always very well washed, and dry, and folded, and delivered back to your room the following day. We always ate breakfast, and often dinner, at the Cozy Place. The food was excellent, well prepared and well cooked. We never got sick from any food we ate there.

The electricity often goes out all over Ethiopia, and the staff at the Cozy Place were always very well prepared with plenty of candles and torches for everyone. I had a problem with the hot water heater in our bathroom, and the problem was fixed immediately. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the Cozy Place. They even helped us to translate to our friends when we needed it on several occasions, and had very good travel advice for places to visit outside of Addis Ababa. They were also happy to help with my son while I was there on my own, and I also saw them helping other guests with their babies. They organised a very reliable taxi driver for us when our regular driver became very unreliable. We used this new taxi drvier almost every day, and he was honest, very reliable, and had good English. He would also go out of his way to help us if we needed it.

There were a variety of people who came through the Cozy Place while we were there, and we celebrated many special occasions, such as Christmas, New Year, and Timket with the other travellers and the staff. We all had an excellent time.

I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone on a budget when travelling in Ethiopia. We had the best time there, the service was excellent, the rates were excellent, and we loved our stay there. We can't wait to go back and visit again some day.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

I stayed at Cozy Place for an entire month with my 7 and 9 year old son's. The staff took such good care of our every need and helped make emergency arrangements for a friend of mine that needed last minute lodging.
The beautiful courtyard provided hours of comfortable relaxation and entertainment for our family and friends. The prices were so reasonable and the location was centrally located to all of the places my family visited during our stay.
I reccomend Cozy Place to my friends traveling through Addis Ababa. I have not found a better guest house or a nicer staff.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaclyn_wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

I am some what of a regular here, have stayed there on an off for about 3 months on business trips to Ethiopia. If your young and want a cool place to say where you can chill and sip st George beer or a family with kids looking for a clean budget option then this is probably the best Addis has to offer. Don't expect luxury of any sort but the service and abidance will more than make up for it!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorneverts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.7 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr. Martins Cozy Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr. Martins Cozy Place

Property: Mr. Martins Cozy Place
Address: Cape Verde Street | near to Atlas hotel, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have found Mr. Martins Cozy Place, one of the top rated and the most recommend budget accommodations in Addis Ababa. It is not a coincidence that we are preferred by travelers from around the world,as we are located only 3.2km from Bole International Airport and our neighborhood is the most happening in Addis in terms of the selection of restaurants, bars, nightclubs, shopping centers,art galleries, banks/ATMs, internet cafes, gyms and cinemas. We are also steps away from easy transport routes to most parts of the city.Mr. Martins Cozy Place is situated inside a quiet, private compound with a two story main building. We have a range of seventeen rooms according to your needs. Our rooms are decorated in simple but tasteful manner and are always clean. Also there is a big communal kitchen for guests to make themselves a healthy meal. To relax, the premises feature a lush garden area and a rooftop terrace with a splendid view in addition to various amenities in order to make your stay hassle free. Our experience in budget accommodations since 2005 combined with our friendly staff allows us to make your stay in Addis enjoyable and memorable. We love what we do, we love meeting new people and most of all we love building experience to better our services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Jovago.com so you can book your Mr. Martins Cozy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mr. Martins Cozy Place Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing