We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious & Warm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mr. Martins Cozy Place
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This low-key oasis in the city offered simple accommodations with lovely breakfast, excellent coffee and friendly service. One of the owners even went shopping with us to help with the language. The shared bathrooms could have been cleaner but the beautiful courtyard and helpful staff made up for any shortcomings.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 214 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is a quite clean hotel. Clean hotels are not the rule in Ethiopia.
The rooms and the interior furnishings aren't luxurious, but are well maintained. The hotel consists of several small houses located around a small green courtyard, where it is excellent to relax, have a drink, work or take a sunbath. There is also a bar, offering alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks as well as Ehtiopian and European food. The prices are reasonable. I stayed at this hotel in April 2012 and I had a very nice and relaxing stay. The hotel staff are very friendly people. If I go back to Ethiopia one day, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank potsdampotsdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great friendly guest house. Basic rooms but the double is worth having - mine had separate living area with couch, desk, tv. Courtyard / cafe / bar area. Breakfast was great. Good coffees. Internet cafe around the corner, excellent pizza place up the street for when you are tired of injera ... and many other relatively nearby restaurants

Room Tip: The rooms all share bathrooms. There are two at the back that are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jss359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a nice, cute place to stay. Very chill and they have good food available. Rooms are basic, but just what you need. It's in a pretty good location, though there isn't much within walking distance from my experience. I traveled here alone and it was cool. There is a cyber cafe around the corner and a few shops and eateries.

Room Tip: I think there are 2 sizes of room- single or family. The single is just enough for maybe 1-2 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stayed here a few times coming and going from Addis, and the service is always top notch. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and they go out of their way to make sure your stay is a comfortable one. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to save a little money but still receive high quality service and a great experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This place has my heart. It's a straight up backpackers so don't expect the Ritz but it has the kindest staff I've yet to meet in Ethiopia. The coffee is outstanding in a land of fantastic coffee! The single rooms are utilitarian but the doubles are where the place shines. We had a separate spacious living room with couch and tv. The bedroom was big too! The bathrooms aren't attached but are close. All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tin100tin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here on and off for a few weeks recently and it's a great place to stay. Really good breakfast, extremely friendly staff, and a interesting group of people staying there. The rooms vary in size, but the two different ones I stayed in were both just fine. Shared bathrooms are well-kept and were always available when needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BK_Traveler_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.5 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 122 in Addis Ababa
233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 122 in Addis Ababa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 122 in Addis Ababa
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 122 in Addis Ababa
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#12 of 122 in Addis Ababa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr. Martins Cozy Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr. Martins Cozy Place

Address: Cape Verde Street | near to Atlas hotel, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $27 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have found Mr. Martins Cozy Place, one of the top rated and the most recommend budget accommodations in Addis Ababa. It is not a coincidence that we are preferred by travelers from around the world,as we are located only 3.2km from Bole International Airport and our neighborhood is the most happening in Addis in terms of the selection of restaurants, bars, nightclubs, shopping centers,art galleries, banks/ATMs, internet cafes, gyms and cinemas. We are also steps away from easy transport routes to most parts of the city.Mr. Martins Cozy Place is situated inside a quiet, private compound with a two story main building. We have a range of seventeen rooms according to your needs. Our rooms are decorated in simple but tasteful manner and are always clean. Also there is a big communal kitchen for guests to make themselves a healthy meal. To relax, the premises feature a lush garden area and a rooftop terrace with a splendid view in addition to various amenities in order to make your stay hassle free. Our experience in budget accommodations since 2005 combined with our friendly staff allows us to make your stay in Addis enjoyable and memorable. We love what we do, we love meeting new people and most of all we love building experience to better our services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mr. Martins Cozy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mr. Martins Cozy Place Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing