We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desalegn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desalegn Hotel
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thank you.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Despite the short notice, Desalegn hotel surpassed our expectation. Excellent conference space and catering. Real value for money with internet included, its a pretty good deal. For best sleep, avoid the area overlooking the road though it has the best view. Well done Dessalegn. Any time, I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheworldformak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    37
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
2
6
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Hotel is located in a very secure area opposite EU offices and close to Bole road. Proximity to airport and major malls is a big plus.
Food is great and staff at Desalegn have very good attitude and are always helpful, not to forget courteous shuttles by the hotel vans.
Their rates are relatively lower compared to other hotels of the same standard.

The rooms in the new wing are spacious and with a modern look, however those in the old wing are small and still fixed with archaic 14" CRT TV sets.

Basic stuff like A/C, electric kettles in the rooms for instant coffee would be nice and stocking beverages in the mini fridges something they need to consider.

Room Tip: New wing upper floors have bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a very comfortable hotel stay. Really nice rooms and great food. We enjoyed the breakfast and had a good lunch here as well. The hotel is not far from Bole and they provide a good shuttle service. While we were there we walked to nearby stores and had no problem finding things. The hotel is located near a bunch of embassies and the EU center for Ethiopia. There was some noise at night, but nothing compared to other places we stayed. We had no complaints staying at this hotel and would definitely stay here again. We didn't use the fitness center, but would if we hadn't been so tired from a long journey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wokabaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibsa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The new side is just everything you need. Large and clean rooms, good bathrooms, and nice service. All come with its reasonable price

The location is also very good, walking distance from the heart of the city.

The staff is also very helpful, in general it's highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 8 days as my husband was attending a conference. It has a great location, not too far from airport. We were given a free airport transfer, and driver was waiting and ready. Very welcome after a long flight. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Service is friendly and professional. The room rate is super reasonable, and includes free breakfast and free WIFI in the rooms. During the day/evening it is possible to eat in the open lobby, and the food is fairly good -- I recommend the Italian dishes, soups and french fries.(Stay away from "fajitas"--the Ethiopian take on this was way off. ) Coffees are excellent. Only negatives are the bathrooms are bit worn and dated, but clean, and we always had to request a second towel. Not sure why staff don't get that two people need two towels. Also no toiletries provided, but again for the room rate, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, and room in NEW part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Desalegn Hotel opposite EU in April this year. Airport transfer was provided and despite of having been delayed by the airline for more than 45 mins, the driver patiently waited for me.

I was asked for my passport at the reception, though my partner wasnt asked for his (raised eyebrows) and what surprised me is that during checkout, my passport was just lying on the desk! Although it was returned to me safe, i had a sneaky suspicion that it was never kept in safe custody.

The reception staff was friendly, the room was nice and clean. .Clean towels weren't provided on the second day though and we had to share. There are security checks as you enter the hotel....every time you enter the hotel. A little disconcerting but I guess its good for safety purposes. The hotel is at a good location. Breakfast was great, we went out for lunch and dinner so cant say how the other meals are. There is free wifi with good connection.

You can walk to nearby shops and coffee houses.
Would stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been saying here for 3 plus years. The hotel was recently renovated. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The house keeping and the restaurant staff are courteous and offer great service. The wireless is free and the net speed is pretty good. The hotel has a good gym but you have to pay and use. Quiet location. I like staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rduraikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.9 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ye-Afoli International Hotel
Ye-Afoli International Hotel
#32 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#19 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#59 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desalegn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desalegn Hotel

Property: Desalegn Hotel
Address: Cape Verde Street | Bole, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Dessalegn Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing