We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Afro Ethiopia Tour
from $87.00
More Info
from $775.00
More Info
from $599.00
More Info
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
22
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panoramic view of the city rock hewn churches teddy trekking interests culture country lalibela palace ethiopia guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 24 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We had about a 6 hour layover in Addis Ababa, and the Afro Ethiopia Tour with our guide Emanuel was amazing! They picked us up from the airport and returned us timely to the airport! We had a fabulous private tour, adjusted to our requests. We got to see "Lucy", and other hominoids. We had coffee at a local coffee shop. We saw an amazing panoramic view of the city. We went to the open air market, and then we had an amazing lunch featuring traditional Ethiopian foods. Emanuel was very knowledgable, and I would strongly recommend this company!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Lexie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Our tour was really a great experience. We tried multiple local fresh dishes. Visiting the buchers district was definitely something I won’t easily forget but despite initial worry, the freshly prepared dish there was equally amazing. Emmanuel invited us to his house where his family prepared a meal and coffee from scratch - we left with plenty of great memories and full bellies! Definitely recommend.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank EmiliaK232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afroethiopiatour, Manager at Afro Ethiopia Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we are extremely happy you had such a good experience in Addis Ababa. Welcome back any time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

The guide was wonderful and spoke excellent English. See saw all the main places in the city, the museums, the churches, palace, even a drive up the mountain to see the city panoramic view. Would recommend this tour to all.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank kelgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

I booked a private guide for my vist at the churches in Lalibela and tours to Asheton Maryam Monastry and to Yemrehanna Krestos Church and it was really great! The native guide was perfect in both, educated as a tourist guide and also showing me his culture, country and religion! All the entrance fees, car and Bajaja fares have been included and the guide was always intime and very ambitious to show and explain all the point of interest to me! In my opinion a tour guide is a huge benefit for visitors because the churches are not singnposted at all and you won`t understand most of the meanings, hidden subjects and details without one.
At least an appeal: please respect that this places are not a museum but holy places for the people! You also won`t go to Vatikan in shorts and tanktop! Pants, longsleeve and hiking boots are also more functionell because of the sun and the stony pathes!

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank hhjfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017

Being in Addis Ababa for work I had a chance to make a day walking tour of the city center. We visited two museums, university, church, had lunch and coffee. It was a pleasant tour, we managed to see a lot by foot and also using public transport.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Travelerlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews