We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closer to Indian Restaurant”
Review of Damu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Damu Hotel
Ranked #90 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Damu is well placed on the Bole Road and is closer to most business offices. For vegetarians Damu is also placed closer to one of the best indian restaurants in town "Sangam".

Internet connection is always good at Damu except for when the city's telecom provider plays a spoil sport.

Rooms / Bathrooms are clean and spacious.

Damu also provides airport pick up and drop facility.

Had a great stay

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RajeshR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

The DAMU was a great place to stay. The cost was very reasonable. The hotel is located in a great location. I felt safe everyday at the hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly. The food was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james_brinson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed at Damu when my sister adopted her beautiful baby. It was simple but fantastic. A crib for the baby, a brand new kettle for water, a stocked mini bar, and so many helpful smiling people in the restaurant and at the front desk and at the front door.
The neighbourhood is great and we always felt very safe. There were many excellent restaurants ( special mention to Makush restaurant and Art gallery and Habesha traditional great ethopian food and amazing traditional dancing ) The hotel has a generator and therefore no problems with blackouts or lack of hot water. I really can't say enough about this hotel. Although the rooms are simple we were very happy we stayed there instead of one of the larger American hotels. There is also a bank just on the corner for exchanging money and some lovely shops nearby. We were lucky enough to be there for a craft fair on the grounds of a nearby garden. Check out " What's up in Addis" for events.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

On checking in at the Damu, I was issued with a key to the safety deposit box in my room and duly stowed my valuables there. Less than 24 hours later, around $500 had been taken by somone who, without forced entry, was able both to enter my room and the box. The hotel was not able to find the thief, and despite the matter going to the police, refused to take any responsibility for the loss. The management of the situation by the hotel's owners was appalling. Do not trust yourself or your possessions to this establishment. There are plenty of other hotels in Addis - please do stay in one of those.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PCDCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We stayed at the Damu Hotel for one night upon arriving in Addis before we began a week-long tour of Ethiopia. We chose it because it was reasonably priced and located in a good area, just off the main road coming from the airport. Although the room was somewhat small (with the ubiquitous twin beds that get pushed together to form a queen), it was quiet, reasonably clean and had hot water. We ate lunch at the hotel's Western-style restaurant, which had surprisingly good pasta. For dinner, we walked five minutes down the road to a lovely local restaurant that served traditional Ethiopian food. The internet service did not work at the hotel's business center, so we had to go to an internet cafe, but that was fine.

On our last night back in Addis, we stayed in a different hotel that we liked much better--the Dagim Millennium. We had a suite with a huge balcony and a sparkling clean bathroom. Serivice was great, and the rate was reasonable. Although it was a little more expensive, we would recommend the Millennium over the Damu.

More than anything, if you are a first time traveller to Ethiopia (or any developing country), you need to recognize that the hotels (Addis Hilton and Sheraton excluded) will not be anywhere near Western standards. Carpeting will be what most people put on their front porch. Bedding will be musty. Electricity may or may not work, and hot water is a luxury. With that in mind, the Damu is clean and safe and generally exceeds modest expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ameyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Greetings,

I stayed at the Damu Hotel in April of 2006, and it was lovely. I was scheduled to stay at the Hilton, but a taxi driver told me about this place, and I was floored at the high level of quality that it had for the very inexpensive price. I am headed to Addis again in October, and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hick31313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

my name :- taher mahedy - sudan
I never thought it is like that , it is wonderfull ,klean,nice, neat
very tame people ,good services.... if i got another chance to Adis , i will be at damu .

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank sudanTasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion's Den Hotel
The Lion's Den Hotel
#30 of 122 in Addis Ababa
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamliner Hotel
Dreamliner Hotel
#70 of 122 in Addis Ababa
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#93 of 122 in Addis Ababa
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kaleb Hotel
Kaleb Hotel
#46 of 122 in Addis Ababa
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
1.1 mi away
Washington Hotel
Washington Hotel
#34 of 122 in Addis Ababa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damu Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Hotel Class:3 star — Damu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Damu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damu Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing