We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and value for money but thats all”
Review of Damu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Damu Hotel
Ranked #88 of 121 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good Points :

1. Very Good Location.
2. Cheap
3. Good cafes and eating places in walking distance.

Bad Things:

1. Room Sizes
2. Service

Maybe good for a day or two's trip. Its not a place where you would like to spend the weekends

Room Tip: The Higher the floor the better for you.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranvijayronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Damu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

its an average hotel, bad internet in the rooms, shower heads leak all over the place, power plug points that dont have any use and some lights that dont work, food is good, but the staff at restaurant can be pushy in terms of tips, its alright for a layover and thats about it, its way overpriced to what it offers, neighborhood is bad and boring. beds could be better, a hot water pot will help, crapper can be better.

Room Tip: room 605 is better on the 6th floor and make sure your door has good locks on it
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thinkingtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place is clean.
That is my only positive thing to say.
Airport pick up did not happen and no apology or explanation.
Dark and dingy room. Way overpriced for what you get.
The only positive thing (and for that the hotel gets no plaudits) is that the very fine Indian restaurant (Sangam?) is just across the road.
Reccomendation: Pay just a bit more and get much more.

Room Tip: I was at the front and would recommend a room there if you want to be awoken by barking dogs at 4am.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dubaidaveDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

room is spacious, clean bathroom and helpful staff. negative side is security. making smart comments and not allowing any visitors unless you come down and sign. i signed once and they kept asking me everytime to do the same thing. i had to move out due to their behaviour.
location is good by the way overlooking bole road near hebsha resturant.

Room Tip: the higher floor the better
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aljehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel is about 5 minutes drive from the airport on Africa Avenue. You can walk to the main attraction of the city. Their rate starts around $45.00 if you're using azebot.com to make your online reservation. You have to make sure you make your reservation ahead to get the discount though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DECSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I enjoyed staying in this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is clean and quite in the middle of Addis Ababa "Bole Road". You can feel very safe in this hotel and you will always find a staff who wants to accommodate your requests with a smiley face.
At the same time, don't expect to find a luxurious rooms.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms in the first 3 floors as the elevator sometimes doesn't work.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KodakAgfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Damu is certainly doing its best to get everything right, but at the moment for every plus there is also a negative. My airport pickup did not arrive, and no one at the hotel apologised for this - not great when arriving at 1 a.m. Noise is a real problem with car alarms, noisy guests and blaring bar music from next door all a problem the hotel has yet to deal with. On the upside, I enjoyed the food, the service was good and friendly, and the rooms excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel for quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sodafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion's Den Hotel
The Lion's Den Hotel
#29 of 121 in Addis Ababa
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamliner Hotel
Dreamliner Hotel
#69 of 121 in Addis Ababa
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ras Hotel
Ras Hotel
#92 of 121 in Addis Ababa
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
0.4 mi away
Ghion Hotel
Ghion Hotel
#73 of 121 in Addis Ababa
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#93 of 121 in Addis Ababa
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damu Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 121 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Hotel Class:3 star — Damu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Damu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damu Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing