We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, tired and won't change (?)”
Review of Ghion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ghion Hotel
Ranked #75 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old, tired and won't change (?)”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The absolute advantage of this hotel is that it is located in a nice park. And so much about the positive things.
We were on a business trip, spent almost 2 months there (3 times aprox. 3 weeks).
First we had garden apartments. Was quite big, no internet service. Quite relaxing until the weekend comes and the nearby swimming pool becomes very crowded and for some unobvious reason they keep on playing the same music very loudly. Furniture, equipment needs serious refurbishment. Cleaning was OK.
Then we moved to the main building. Rooms are not too big, their condition is just as bad as the garden apartments. Our biggest surprise was that on 3 days out of 7 there is no hot water. On the remaining 4 the cold one "was missing". This meant very rapid showers. And usually the water pressure was low - avoid 3rd (top) floor. Main building is also noisy, loudspeakers of the nearby curches / mosqs will wake you up at about 5-6 in the morning.
Fixed line internet is available in the main building, though it is seriously overpriced and slow. The ancient elevator in the main building should be put on display in a technical museum (mind the step: no doors in the elevator inside).
The food was not too variable. After 4-5 days you get really fed up with the breakfast (absolutely no change for 2 months, the same narrow selection every day). Same thing applies for the dinner: it is a la carte though the menu did not change, it remained the same 20-25 dishes. Ask for the room service foods - they are absolutely not advertised in the restaurant but they are available (e.g. club sandwich). Some foods are otherwise quite OK, and the fresh orange juice is also a must to try (but not the one they have during breakfast).
Business center is something to avoid. It's owner (Mimi) provides you very unreliable and utterly expensive service, and also she did not keep her word. We made a mistake by renting mobile (internet) sticks there. Avoid it, if possible.
All other shops are also highly expensive, just pop out to any other place, it is worth it - even at the airport things are much cheaper...
We went only once to the swimming pool (as hotel guest it is for free). Afterwards we had serious stomach problems for 2-3 days.
The hotel also has a fitness center - if you pay extra 140 birr you may enter. (We did not.)

Still the worst experience was our last day, when someone called my room from the reception desk. Without introducing himself he insisted on that I should immediately go down. So I did and the caller turned out to be the front office manager. He was missing a letter that our Ethiopian partner company sent earlier to him. He said that due to the absence of this latter we should pay our own bill. After 30 minutes of shouting (really) and after I could finally reach the contact person from my partner company this was solved (mobile network is unreliable). But his approach clearly showed me that he should not be working with guests. (Why on the last day did he find it out? Why didn't he call the number he also know? etc). And of course they had the original letter with them at the reception desk - it turned out to be there when I checked out. They simply did not know where they had put that. And of course in this case it is the guest who can easily be blamed and he has to solve the problem.

The root cause for all these problems is that there are not too many hotels in Addis - hotels that offer such a service can still get on quite well and fetch a lot of money...

Room Tip: Main building: avoid 3rd floor. Try to get a room that overlooks the nearby building in the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaniBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    58
    122
    47
    17
See reviews for
27
54
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is well designed and built but is in need of updating. I've stayed here on several occasions from 2001 to 2011 (one stay was for 18 months) I love its charm and location but service and amenities can be lacking. It's overpriced for what it offers and there is frequently something wrong with the room (television, bathroom or door) but the grounds are amazing and it does have a charm of faded glory. The showers don't work but there is hot water. The rooms are larger than those in the newer hotels. Food is awful don't eat there.

Room Tip: Get a garden facing room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abeshababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel looks like an old Soviet place on the inside. Furniture and decoration is outdated, there is no airconditioning, the bathrooms are tired, but functional. In the lobby you find some souvenir shops, a bar and an currency exchange office. Breakfast is not bad at all
The hotel is situated in its own park in which you can enjoy a nice walk.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The room we had was OK except that it was much in need of refurbishing. The beds were comfortable and we had 24-hour hot water (although it took a while). Service throughout the hotel was quite friendly and competent. The food was reasonably good. Grounds are very nice. No air conditioning in our room, but you should seldom need it. In fact, our room was even a little on the chilly side. Not a bad place to stay but maybe a little overpriced. I tried without success to get a reservation over the Internet but no one would answer my messages. Finally wound up calling them (after I located their phone number, which was wrong on their web site). Needn’t have bothered as they had plenty of rooms available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyeri, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have now stayed twice at the Ghion and the menu is great! The service from the reception to the room is excellent. My only beef is that the place is still quite old fashioned & is crying out for a spruce up- from the main hotel building to the swimming pool. Internet is also pricey and investment in WIFI facilities will help much.

I always enjoy walking in the lush gardens and strolling into the city centre which is right outside the gate. Ghion is a very pleasant place to stay in Addis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

For our first night in Ethiopia, I thought we could have done a lot worse. It was nice to have a large, calm, green area away from the bustle of the city but situated in the middle of town. And the rooms were clean and things mainly worked - even here my shower and electricity was erratic. But for the amount it cost, it didn't seem worth it. My friend and I agreed we would stay somewhere cheaper on our way back and had a look at some other hotels and we found two that were much cheaper but would have suited us fine (Taitu and Ras). I think it comes down to how much you're prepared to "rough" it. This is a safe but overpriced choice. In the end, we didn't stay another night in Addis because Gonder and Lalibela were much more pleasant. And I think that would be my overall recommendation for a tourist visiting Ethiopia.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our travel agent advised us to stay here, not because it was the best hotel in Addis, but because it was the most "real" hotel.
He was right!
The hotel used to the visitors lodge of the emperor, and it has that "last days of the Raj" feel about it with grand public space, massive grounds and and bow ties on the staff.
However, the rooms are a tired, really tired, we did have hot water in our room, but it was either hot or cold, nothing in between. The breakfast was ok, not awesome, but it did the trick.
The location is good, you can wander around outside the hotel and see some local sites including the national football stadium.
Probably the coolest thing about the hotel was the swimming pool, its freaking massive, bigger than an olympic pool and including a set of olympic height diving boards.
I think its worth staying here just for the grounds and the pool, they really are spectacular!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.7 mi away
The Lion's Den Hotel
The Lion's Den Hotel
#23 of 118 in Addis Ababa
82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ras Hotel
Ras Hotel
#91 of 118 in Addis Ababa
75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghion Hotel

Property: Ghion Hotel
Address: Ras Desta Damtue Avenue | Around National stadium, Addis Ababa 1643, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ghion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghion hotel which is popularly known as "the Garden palace hotel of east Africa" is located in the heart of down town Addis Ababa in spacious verdant compound,adjacent to what was once the jubilee palace of emperor Haile Selassie I. Opened in 1951, the Ghion hotel has for years distinguished itself as the hotel where heads of state or governments and other VIPs stayed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Ghion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghion Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing