We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent italian food”
Review of Gusto Restaurante

Gusto Restaurante
Ranked #7 of 262 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Phenomenal international and Mediterranean
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent italian food”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great food and service, a precious address in Addis Abeba where good restaurants are not so common. The service is good, pleasant waiters however i would suggest not overdo. It can be a bit invading to have the constant presence of a waiter to pour water in your glass or to fill the bread basket. A more discreet presence would be appreciated

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank hekla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emaduvwe, Manager at Gusto Restaurante, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments that you shared to our trip advisor viewers.

I am happy to read from your comments that the food plus service was excellent,
Thank you very much for bringing into our attention regarding intrusive service that you experience,Gusto Management has taken your comments positively and an action will be taken to ensure that while the waiters are providing excellent service to our guest,intrusiveness and interruption should be minimize to ensure that our guest are well comfortable and enjoying their wonderful dining experience while at Gusto.

Once again thank you very much and looking forward to welcome you back at Gusto Ristorante.

Best Regards
Evans Andambi Maduvwe
Gusto Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    97
    28
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good - relative to what is available elsewhere”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Went here with our friends who live in Addis. Starter and salad bar were excellent and then we went for the steaks which we enjoyed. Good food and service - in fact it was probably the best restaurant experience we had during our 2 weeks in Ethiopia.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emaduvwe, Manager at Gusto Restaurante, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments and feedback to trip advisor viewers.
I am delighted that you had a wonderful experience and rating us as the best restaurant that you had visited during your two week stay in Addis Abeba.

Thank you very much for your comments and together with the team we would like to welcome you back to an endless enchanting experience.

Best Regards
Evans Andambi Maduvwe
Gusto Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stands apart from the rest.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Pros
-This place is very clean. This is a BIG plus for the location.
- Food tastes great!
- Great customer service!
- I love the custom birthday song! Someone is getting old...........lol

Cons
- I did not like the way the chef yelled at the staff in front of customers. Its not Hell's Kitchen.
- The chef only greeted people who he though were important. In this case, anyone who didn't look like a local. Word of advise: Get to know your customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emaduvwe, Manager at Gusto Restaurante, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear our valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and feedback on trip advisor about your dining experience at Gusto Ristorante.
I am so delighted that you have even mastered our Gusto birthday anthem and the fact that you enjoyed our food and great customer care that we are providing at our restaurant.

I am also sad to hear the comments about chef and please consider that Gusto management will take an action and rest assured that it will not happen again.

Thank you very much and looking forward to welcome you and your guest to an endless enchanting experience at Gusto Ristorante

Best Regards
Evans Andambi Maduvwe
Gusto Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was surprised”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I cam with two of my friends, one of them knows it. We have had three different meals for us, and each of tested each others meals, and they were awesome. The desert at start up was also very good. We have a very good waiter, but here as a suggestion, don't encourage your customers to talk to Abeshan people in English, try using the Native language, but OK with foreigners.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Melaku30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emaduvwe, Manager at Gusto Restaurante, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time for sharing your comments of trip advisor.
I am very impressed that you and your guest shared and enjoyed your food and had an amazing server.Gusto Management has taken your advice positively and please rest assured that we are going to put it into action.

Thank you very much and looking forward to welcome you and your guest to an endless enchanting experience here at Gusto.

Best Regards
Evans Andambi Maduvwe
Gusto Ristorante Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A new level of fine dining on the scene in Addis Ababa”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stumbled upon the Gusto restaurant and have kept coming back several times. The food and the service would be impressive by any standards in the world. From the welcome with the hot towels and conversation with pleasant waiters speaking perfect English, the wine selection and recommendations, the imported steaks exquisitely prepared and the Italian chef with his colorful personality talking to the guests and revealing some of his secrets. Visiting the Gusto restaurant is an experience that stays with you and will always have you wanting to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchvandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emaduvwe, Manager at Gusto Restaurante, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor, I am so delighted to notice from your comments that you an amazing time here at Gusto.
At Gusto we are concentrating and focusing more in ensuring that our guest experience a lovely dining from the time of their arrival to departure and to ensure their memory of Gusto remains forever.
We are so pleased to read from your comments that you had noticed all the small details including the hot towel for our guest to get refreshed before starting their dining experience.

Thank you once again for your lovely comments and looking forward to welcome you back at Gusto Addis.

Best Regards
Evans Andambi Maduvwe
Gusto Ristorante Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Restaurante also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Gusto Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing