We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #18 of 119 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights.
We looked at Radisson Blu and Sheraton.
They both looked nice but were extremely expensive and too far from any action.
Monarch was in the best location with easy walking to shops,restaurants,and night life.
Staff were extremely friendly
Rooms were large and clean.
Best recommendation we could give is that we would stay here again
Perfect ..no but for location and value there is nothing better

Room Tip: We stayed in room 404 I would suggest stay at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Experienced55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mon A, Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear valued guest , thank you very much for the encouraging words about our Hotel. We will continue to improve our products and services to make your stay pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    92
    45
    7
    14
See reviews for
14
20
27
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at the Monarch with my young daughter. The lobby and pool area are very well maintained. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were quiet by Ethiopian standards, though the view from back of the hotel is an abandoned lot with a pack of feral dogs. It was very convenient for dining and shopping. It was also fun for people watching, as it is the place where young Ethiopian hipsters hang out in the evenings. Only down side is the the finishes on the rooms seem not to be completely done. Pool was very cold and you felt like you were on display when you swam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlympiaBirdgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abarao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at the Monarch for two weeks on business. My room was spacious, the bed clean and comfortable and a small but functional desk with lamp. There was no air con in the room and the fridge and some of the lamps had no power outlets nearby to connect to. However, my room had a small verandah and being on the 3rd floor I could open onto this during the day and let in cool and fresh air. Neither the wifi nor phones were working for the first three days due to construction going on on the nearby road. Once it was fixed, the wifi was reasonably reliable and speed not overly frustrating. Biggest drawbacks were the low water pressure in the (hot) shower and there are no cups/tea/coffee facilities in the room. However, still I'd recommend the hotel for short visits and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (away from the road) are quieter but a rather derelict view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbaraoAbarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is very new and nice! The location near the Edna Mall (great place to unwind and see new Hollywood movies) is perfect. The outdoor pool and bar area is usually lively and a very nice place to sit back and digest the days adventure. The rooms are decent size, bathrooms are clean and beds are on the harder side but comfortable. BBC and one movie channel are offered. After staying in other hotels in Addis, this one is perfect. Also easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask about current construction projects when checking in. You can hear the music from nearby nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandXiaoHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

the Monarch is located on "hotel row" in central addis and brand spanking new which is good and bad. the have wifi everywhere but Ethionet internet is dial-up speed all over the country, so can't blame Monarch on that. the internet is slow. period. but rooms are nice, clean, bathrooms are small and awkward (room 514) but as long as you face the street and get high up, you have a quiet experience. there is a nightclub across the street called Flirt which can get loud with live music, but overall, i found the Monarch to be a hip, chic, & cool.

a large bar patio outside, a pool you can dip in, great pizza, and a good omelette bar at the breakfast buffet that's included in the room price. for $60 a night it's a bargain, the clientele is interesting and international, and the service was getting there. the lobby bar couldn't find any ice for my vodka tonic which was annoying, but that was my biggest complaint in 2 weeks. you can walk to the malls, to kaldis coffee and to harmony hotel up the street if you want an old lobby feel to chill in.

addis is booming with building right now and a new light rail is going in. it's a happening place. and the monarch will certainly do for any occasion. i would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: face the street! overlook the pool! the rooms in back overlook abandoned construction sites. stay hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddmafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is quite new, so everything is working ans still clean. Rooms are large enough with a small balcon. Equipment sufficient.
The main drawback is the service itself.
For instance I asked for a wake-up call to get an early flight. Fortunatly my watch woke me up. Rhey never called me. I did not gget my fried eggs for breakfast, the shuttle to airport neither, etc.
Staff is also new, they need to trained probably.
Location is OK, rather quiet.
The bar with the swimming beside the swimming pool is a good place to rest or socialize.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

No international calls from the rooms, when there is no internet, this means complete isolation. No refrigerator (minibar in the room), no glasses, or kettle or cups, there was even not garbage can. No heater or air conditioner in the room. Internet is the slowest on earth, this was the problem for the whole hotel rooms, the reception told me that they are aware and have informed the service provider to send maintenance, he came next day afternoon, have it fixed , but still there was a lot of interruptions during my 6 nights stay. Mosquitos in the room for one night, next day they sprayed my room, isolation is not good, I was hearing snoring from the next room, and the water pump was on and off all the night.

Room Tip: Try fusion Brito resturant , just opposite side. there is also a nice Turkish resturant 200 meters w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 119 in Addis Ababa
270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 119 in Addis Ababa
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 119 in Addis Ababa
755 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 119 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#21 of 119 in Addis Ababa
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: Cameroon Street | near Edna Mall, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 119 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monarch Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious one bedroom Deluxe Room can be tailored to fit your needs. Our Deluxe Room guests are welcome to choose between our beautiful custom-designed full-service kitchens and comfortable seating areas. Guests also can choose between a lovely view of Monarch’s pool and garden section and a spacious terrace facing away from the street to enjoy the fresh Addis air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing