We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$109
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$353
$303
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harmony Hotel(Addis Ababa)
$109
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ag Palace Hotel(Addis Ababa)(Great Value!)
$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Addissinia Hotel(Addis Ababa)
$82
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Caravan Hotel(Addis Ababa)
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lobelia(Addis Ababa)
$56
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
15
27
29
16
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
27
29
16
23
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 110 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2015

Stayed here during a short overnight transfer in Addis. It says 4 stars, which I wouldn't agree with...
Maintenance does not seem to be a priority so the Place is starting to wear down a bit from having been really nice when newly built. The rooms are small but not crammed. Nice furniture but a dirty carpet ruined the overall experience and made the room seem dirtier than it probably was. Nice and quiet. There was no shampoo in the bathroom and just one tiny handsoap. The shower leaked out on the floor making it hard to walk around without getting wet feet. No wifi in the rooms, so thank god I had an Ethiopian cell phone to use basic internet.
Still, I slept very comfortably for the few hours I had Before flying on. The breakfast was more of a joke, but maybe this was a special poor arrangements for transfer guests. A very messy and boring breakfast room with poor selection of uninspired breakfast Foods.
I have of course slept in worse transfer hotels and the important thing is that I get some rest, but I would not recommend this Place for anything else than a transfer hotel scenario. The nice bed brings it up to a Three, otherwise a two was almost more appropriate.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarcusHolmgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham G, Front Office Manager at Debredamo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for taking your precious time to provide us with your feedback. Guest feedbacks like yours help us reach the urge of flawlessness. It sounds as though we did not meet your expectations Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you faced however all your comments are well noted.

Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make it up to you. It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again at Debre Damo Hotel and reassure you are our best attention at all times.

With regards,

Tsige G/mariam
Front Office Manager
reservation@debredamohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

I loved staying here with my mom and sister the staff is so friendly and very welcoming. They treated us very well, the owner was there also checking on everything. The food is delicious! The rooms are very clean and nice!

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank Gabrixox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham G, Front Office Manager at Debredamo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Dear Nodumo D,

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us with your feedback and for making Debre Damo Hotel your best choice on your visit to Addis Ababa. It is an absolute pleasure that we exceeded your expectation and greatly appreciate the positive comments you shared.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to providing you with another extraordinary service on your next visit to Addis Ababa.

With regards,

Tsige G/mariam
Front Office Manager
reservation@debredamohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2015

Our time at the Debre Damo Hotel had been very pleasant. Luxurious, bright (and very clean!) room with a fantastic view as well as friendly staff, that was very eager to make our stay as convenient as possible. Last but not least, I highly recommend their ‘macchiato’ available in the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham G, Front Office Manager at Debredamo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2015

Dear Nodumo D,

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us with your feedback and for making Debre Damo Hotel your best choice on your visit to Addis. It is an absolute pleasure that we exceeded your expectation and greatly appreciate the positive comments you shared.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to providing you with another extraordinary service on your next visit to Addis.

With regards,

Tsige G/mariam
Front Office Manager
reservation@debredamohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2015

Was here for a business meeting. The staff were great at check in and during my stay. The rooms were decent. The transport was on time. We had access to decent internet. Overall I was happy - I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nodumo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham G, Front Office Manager at Debredamo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2015

Dear Nodumo D,

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to provide us with your feedback and for making Debre Damo Hotel your best choice on your visit to Addis. It is an absolute pleasure that we exceeded your expectation and greatly appreciate the positive comments you shared.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to providing you with another extraordinary service on your next visit to Addis.

With regards,

Tsige G/mariam
Front Office Manager
reservation@debredamohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2015

Churchill once said of an opponent, "The gentleman is a modest man with much to be humble about. So, too, with the Debre Damo.

Two points in its favor: proximity to Bole Airport, and functioning wifi. The rooms are small and a bit the worse for wear. The breakfast was edible, but not much more. The management fills the hotel by arranging for Ethiopian Airlines economy class layover passengers to be put up there at airline expense.

If you just want to fall into bed and leave in the morning, this hotel is for you. Otherwise, find something better. Within range of the airport, I can recommend the Harmony and the Jupiter Bole.

Room Tip: Upper stories get less street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debredamo_Hotel, Director of Sales at Debredamo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016


Dear Constanttraveler71,

Thank you very much for spending your time in writing us your review about your stay at our hotel. your feedback is noticed well since it is the basic tool by which we can see our selves for how and what we are doing. There fore we would like still to extend our heart felt thanks for your comments though we are too late to reply.
We have been working on sorting out our problems as a result of this we are working at our full capacity to the level of our standard even beyond that to meet you (our guests) expectation and satisfy your needs our witnesses are the guests in the house.

Please give us one more chance and stay with us when ever you come to Addis Ababa and then you will comment what exactly we deserve.


Kindest regards !!!


Dr. Mihiret G/Mariam


Director of Sales and Marketing



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews