We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good and less good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taitu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taitu Hotel
Save
You added Taitu Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
408 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good and less good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The refurbished ground floor of the hotel is gorgeous. The attached jazz bar is rather spectacular. The outdoor terrace is very nice. The food in the restaurant is good.

The rooms in the annexes are less than mediocre. Water isn't always available. The hotel-arranged airport pickup is expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    66
    73
    27
    23
See reviews for
8
52
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am rating the hotel, not the restaurant that is nice with wifi and nice garden.

The rooms are quite expensive (266 Birr for a single with private bathroom) and the quality is terrible. There are problems that you frequently find in Addis: plumbery not working, frequently no hot water, but in this hotel it is moreover moist, very dirty, you don't dare touching anything. I have friends who actually had rats in their room!

The worst in my experience there are frequently people that come there to "buy a night with an ethiopian woman" which creates a gloomy atmosphere and makes you hear fights you wouldn't want to hear...

But I've had a nice contact with the staff members, who were helpful and friendly despite the rest.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the main building are better, but also more expensive. You might want to che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aricotine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Dirty, no charm and poor service.
After several attempts to get cleaning staff to clean, I gave up. Staff unfriendly and unhelpful. Upstairs rooms open up to a verandah, but the shift locks actually do not lock.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnlovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Taitu is something of a hit-and-miss, depending on what you want in a hotel and which room you end up getting.

The old building and great terrace oozes character and history, and offers an undisturbed view over Addis. Great to sit and enjoy a drink, or some Ethiopian food from the good kitchen. The place is also buzzing with people such as backpackers, tourists, students, artists, NGO types etc.

I was located in the 'new' wing, and as soon as I returned to my room my good 'vibe' about the Taitu disappeared... The new wing is a concrete structure that reminds me most of a prison. The rooms were also very basic and run down. The bathrooms worked and had hot water, but needed a good clean and redo.
I couldn't be placed in the old wing, but I would imagine that this offers a better experience.

Otherwise, The location is also quite convenient, about good 20 min walk to the National Museum. The superb Tomoca coffee shop is about 5 min away.
At night the awesome Jazzamba club is located in the main ballroom, great for nice evening discovering fabulous Ethiopian jazz. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.
Regarding value, I felt this was ok looking at the total package.

So, it's probably up to you whether you fall in love with the Taitu or run away as soon as you see your room. For me the upsides were more than compensated by the downsides, as you're hardly in your room anyway. And after a night 'in prison' walking up the stairs to the old building and ordering a coffee on the terrace the room quickly becomes a distant memory.

Room Tip: Probably the old wing/building?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Character? Yes. Good location? Yes. But the shared bathrooms were absolutely disgusting. I've done a lot of budget travelling and this was one of the worst - non-flushable toilet, barely functioning and super-grimy shower (which was a hand held showed in a slippery bath), leaking taps and constantly wet floor, etc etc (check out the photo). They've got a lot of staff kicking about, but no-one seems to care to clean the place up a bit, a shame given the character of the place.

Horrible bathrooms aside, even if you don't stay there, the vegan lunch buffet in the restaurant should not be missed - just excellent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlennAWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The messed up the booking they had confirmed by email the night before - charged me double for a single room with shower than I could have got down the road at Baro. But no complaints about restaurant - good food, good value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethiopia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

You like something else than a concrete building to sleep.
Taitu is the right place.
You like to sit quiet outside in a nice compound ?
Taitu is the right place.
You like to meet other travellers ?
Taitu is the right place
Even they managed now to cook well.
All to Taitu.

Room Tip: Just look in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eenEthiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#36 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#4 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 103 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#58 of 103 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atelefugne
Atelefugne
#13 of 177 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taitu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taitu Hotel

Property: Taitu Hotel
Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 264
Also Known As:
Taitu Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing