We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't buy the nice look of this hotel!”
Review of Taitu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taitu Hotel
Ranked #65 of 121 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Yes, it looks to be a nice place and the oldest hotel in Addis bla bla... But it is the worst hotel I ve had in Ethiopia in 1 month of intensive travelling.


price: waay overpriced ( 350 birr for a double room): for the same price you can get two rooms in similar (better) hotels less than 200 meters away

food:
a la karte: Ok but way overpriced
Buffet: looks good ( specially the vegan food) and price is ok.

service: no doubt the worst we had in Ethiopia and maybe in the world!
examples:
1. booked a room a day before ( and payed for it) only to find out the next day (at 12:00!!) its is not available anymore.
2. no electricity in the bath
3. TV not working
4. used toilet paper and similar unhigenic stuff in the middle of the room!!

last but not least the restaurant service!!
40 minutes for a drink ! 20 minutes for the bill !! ( no joke ) we ate there more than one time and the service was always slow! very slow .. in addition to the fact that the staff does not understand simple english ..
example
please one tea and the bill ( cos we don't want to wait for another hour after we have the tea)
we get ( after more than one hour!) one tee one MILK! and one coffee !!! ( overpriced)

positive: bed sheets are clean, the internet (wifi) works sometimes , and nice atmosphere in the restaurant (if food and service is not a priority for you)

in short: dont go there unless you really have to!

Room Tip: save yourself the pain.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guzTheGuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Taitu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed there earlier this year (2012). Cool place, the oldest hotel in Ethiopia, the reception/restaurant is pretty cool, with original wooden floor and high ceilings. The rooms on the other hand are banged up and the building is literally falling apart, which is a shame since the building is a piece of history. Having said that, it's $10 and I liked it there. It feels like the nerve center for ex-pats and travelers and a popular spot for business and social gatherings. During the hottest parts of the day, the back garden is one of the best places in town to hide from the sun.

Compared to the rest of the country it's over priced, but Addis is more expensive for accommodation... it's still cheap and safe though.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building and try to get a balcony facing the garden...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bear F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Came to this "hotel" after seeing a good review in Lonely Planet. It's known as the oldest hotel in Addis. From the outside, it looks rather charming.
There were 3 of us. Despite having a room with a double and single bed in it, we were not allowed to share it and had to pay for a double and single room at a cost of around 35 dollars.
Both rooms were beyond basic and delapadated. The bathrooms were no better. The beds seemed critter friendly, like most budget accomadation in Addis.
This place is in dyar need of some maintenance. They can afford to provide personalised bars of soap, not a priority in an establishment like this.
However, the staff were friendly and helpful and well equipped with information.
The buffet breakfast at the restaraunt is poor standard but the lunch/dinner menu is very nice. Although you may need to send your food back to be reheated!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovethenitelfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

She is over a hundred years old, she creaks and groans, the staff shuffle round in broken slippers, but she is a queen amongst hotels.a night of her faded grandeur costs the price of a cocktail in the Sheraton.the state ballroom now has the best jazz bands in town every night of the week.(reason enough to be in Addis Ababa) I would not stay any where else but the wonderful iteque taitu hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great location, free access to lock boxes, good restaurant with tasty breakfast and lunch buffets, nice garden area, free wifi. Sure, it's no Hilton, but for $10 a night, it's tough to beat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgalloway525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Cold, damp, dirty, Mouldy rooms. I have stayed in some rough places but this one is the worst. Still having nightmares about it

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellinggirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The rooms:
* Lucky it was summer and we were 2 floors up - the window pane was only half there. The other one was held together with gaffa tape. Not good for temperature or security.
* Pillow was unusable, I used my jacket rolled in my scarf.

I don't mind a shared bathroom, but this one was laughable:
* 1 toilet had no seat, the other one had a half broken seat. Not sure which i prefer.
* I stayed 3 nights and had a decent shower on 1 occassion - when the water worked.

Services:
* Most of my laundry was returned, some was not
* Granted the staff were lovely.
* Internet was fast and free
* The vegan banquet offered by the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: Good luck!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monique_WalkMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.8 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 121 in Addis Ababa
423 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 121 in Addis Ababa
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Soramba
Hotel Soramba
#84 of 121 in Addis Ababa
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#21 of 121 in Addis Ababa
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adot-Tina Hotel
Adot-Tina Hotel
#66 of 121 in Addis Ababa
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#52 of 121 in Addis Ababa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taitu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taitu Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 121 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 264
Also Known As:
Taitu Hotel Addis Ababa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing