We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for human evolution”
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Museum Highlights Guided Day Tour in Addis Ababa
Ranked #6 of 70 things to do in Addis Ababa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum’s greatest treasure is the partial skeleton of "Lucy," a tiny human believed to have lived over three million years ago.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for human evolution”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

It really needs an update, but if you have a spare half hour, then the National Museum does have an impressive collection of hominid remains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    439
    310
    55
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I met Lucy apparently my ancestor”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The museum is purely based on artifacts and makes good for a trip through the Ethiopian history with images and statues ranging from royals to cave men. I

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home of 'Lucy'”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I found the experience thought provoking as I tried to imagine someone who had lived over 3 million years ago now residing in a museum for us to view.
Again, I loved seeing large groups of school children soaking up their history and asking their teachers lots of questions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lucy is waiting for you”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I really want to rave about this museum, given it's content. But it's a bit disappointing. I studied early 'man' at university so was desperate to visit, but if I wasn't passionate about the content I'd be a bit disappointed. Lots to read, badly laid out, but really worth a visit just to see 'Lucy'. Not much else there, to really capture, but we saw it all.
I really liked that the locals paid a different price to the international visitors, to make it accessible for all!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonNisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting but small”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

An interesting small museum. I found the Ethnological Museum much more worthwhile, but I enjoyed seeing "Lucy" and related exhibits here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank biophiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing