We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "home away from home!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Suite Hotel
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I recently moved to Addis Ababa from Santa Monica, California to volunteer at an international NGO that is directly across the street from the Residence Suite Hotel. At first, all I experienced were the exceptional macchiatos prepared by their very happy and nice barista. Next, I experienced the excellent service and fine cuisine, as I ended up taking nearly every meal at this wonderful place. I treated myself to a few nights' stay to take a break from the spartan, yet comfortable guest house provided by my NGO and was thrilled by the elegance, comfort and tv movies(!) I could watch while reclining on the huge and comfortable king-sized bed. I actually decided to spend the rest of my time here in Addis living in this fine establishment and moved in permanently only last evening. The Residence Suite Hotel truly is this ExPat's "home away from home!"

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha A, General Manager at The Residence Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at The Residence and the time to write this review. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and to be of service and assistance.
I am pleased to read you are very comfortable with us and am happy to share your kind words with my colleagues. We look forward to make the rest of your stay a pleasant experience.

Best Regards,

Martha Adugna
General Manager
The Residence Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Our introduction to Addis Ababa was an early morning arrival at Bole(6 am) and then to the Residence. We were greeted and served coffee as they rushed to make our room ready. A large clean modern room and well appointed. The staff were very courteous, attentive and polite. The one drawback was that although there enough lights and appliances, there were not enough electrical outlets. All in all, a great introduction to Addis Ababa. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a top floor room and close the windows at night. There is a fair amount of city noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha A, General Manager at The Residence Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and the time to write this review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay again in the future. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.
I would also like to thank you for your patience that early morning. Your kind words are much appreciated too, and our entire team is pleased to learn they have been of any assistance.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Martha Adugna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We live in Addis, and last week the power was out in our home for 5 days. After day 3 we had to stay a night away for a good shower, power and internet. The Residence became our residence that night! The rooms are comfortable, the shower was great and the internet was fast. One of the only hotels in Addis that makes those extra touches like an iron and board, bath robes, complimentary snacks, tea and coffee. We had room service, the fried fish and steak sandwich and pizza was quite nice. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The egg white and spinach omelet was tasty and they make a nice macchiato. The staff was over the top helpful. When we left, they gave us bottle water for our trip home. We will stay there again. It is a nice getaway from the daily routine.

Room Tip: The mattress was a bit firm, but that was only complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YeGoozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha A, General Manager at The Residence Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Residence and your time for writing this review. I am very pleased to read you have had a wonderful experience and enjoyed your stay while staying with us with your family.
We look forward to seeing and welcoming you again. Thank you again for the kind words.

Best Regards,
Martha Adugna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was in Addis two weeks back and stayed at the Residence and I loved it for sure when I am going back to Addis I am not looking for any other place to stay.

The rooms are excellent, spacious, very relaxing bath tab, good bed and I like the concept of having a sitting area in the room. Lovely.

The food is lovely I enjoyed it and I cannot forget the macchiato; my goodness you have to try it there when you go it made me buy coffee from Addis to bring back to Nairobi.

Then the manager Martha thank you for your hospitality, it felt very homely to be at the Residence.

Room Tip: the rooms at the very top on 5th floor are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha A, General Manager at The Residence Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind words following your recent stay with us at The Residence. I am pleased to read you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed your stay. We welcome you and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Martha A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed in several hotels in Addis and this is probably among the better ones albeit not my first choice. The room was spacious (not a suite, though!) and furniture is nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. I also liked the interior decoration and choice of colours. Breakfast didn't have a wide variety of choice but was still ok.

The fact that the hotel is very new is obviously a bonus.

But I had a major problem with not having hot water for a bath or shower after a day of travelling. In the evening when I arrived, water in the tap was not even lukewarm, let alone hot. And another problem: the room was very cold. I guess not many hotels in Addis would have heating, and this one doesn't have either. So I didn't feel like a cold bath in a cold room. In the morning the water was warm, but not very hot even then.

Other problem was noise in the night. The door to the corridor lets all the noise in from the corridor, and the windows (no double glazing here) from outside. When people chat in the corridors or outside, you can hear it all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha A, General Manager at The Residence Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your stay with us and the time to write this review. It is with regret that we learn about inconveniences you've encountered during your stay and extend our sincere apologies. The issues raised are certainly not reflective of the usual standard of the hotel. We would like to welcome you back again being confident you will have a better experience with us this time.

We Thank you again for the much appreciated comment and advice to further improve our cervices.

Kind Regards,
Martha Adugna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A good acomodation in a perfect place, european confort, good staf and a wonderfull manager, Martha. The residence is the best choice in addia abbeba for acomodation.

buen alojamiento en emplazamiento, confort europeo, un buen equipo y extraordinaria gedtion. la mejor opción de alojamiento en Addis abeba.

Rafa M Urrutia

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMUrrutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I travel across Africa and my work often takes me to Addis. The challenge with most Addis hotels is that what is advertised and what you get is a world apart. So I learned to lower my expectations as I was brought to this rather small hotel. From the moment I entered I was pleasantly surprised with the antique touch of the décor and visibly good quality furnishing and finishing (unlike cheep Chinese replicas in most other hotels). I spent a pleasant stay, breakfast was excellent - amazing coffee, Airport drop off was punctual, staff a bit slow - but I guess its more an Ethiopian thing. The best char is probably the location as you can walk around to variety of locations around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 122 in Addis Ababa
778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 122 in Addis Ababa
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 122 in Addis Ababa
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 122 in Addis Ababa
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 122 in Addis Ababa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Suite Hotel

Address: Africa Avenue | Bole/Olympia, H. No. 072, Addis Ababa 24710, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $86 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Suite Hotel guest suites are spacious, comfortable and luxurious. We offer a superb choice of accommodation located at the heart of Addis Ababa, on Bole Road, Olympia just 5 minutes drive from the airport and major local & international organizations. Financial institutions and shopping malls are within walking distance of the property.The Residence Staff offer personalized service and strive to meet guests' expectations at all times.We welcome you for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Residence Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing