We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Friendship International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 119 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not bad, but....”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights on a business trip - our local agent managed to get a pretty decent discount for us, which I think made this a decent deal. On the positive side: the hotel is well located: close to many places to eat and in between Addis' main roads. Apart from the construction going on around the hotel there is not much noise - and you'd be hard-pressed to find a location in Addis where there is no construction site, probably... :-)
Other positives are the friendly staff and the superclean rooms.
The downsides are not huge, but if the price is much above the 90-something US$ we paid, you might be better off elsewhere. Negatives: the reception service, though very friendly, can be a bit messy every now and then: reservations for airport suttles get lost or arrangements with one staff member are not transferred tp the next - which can be annoying. The facilities in the room look nice (and clean), but they are just not that good: what use is a jacuzzi, when hot water is (almost) not there? And the fancy shower looks nice, but leaks water on all sides. Finally: I found my mattress *very* hard. As said... not big things, but there might be (lots of) other nice options near by...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
10
17
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a recent business trip. I loved how convenient it was to get to mid town in a hurry. It was maybe 15 minutes to get to the airport.Room was clean, quiet and well appointed. Bed was comfortable with quality linens.Efficient service provided early check in. Quick and tasty breakfast. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

our accommodation were beautifully appointed. The rooms were well done and extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.Their services were offered with a smile.The hotel exceeded our expectations.It will definitely be our destination for the next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I did enjoy my stay in the hotel during my First week in Addis before transferring to my permanent residence. the Hotel is quiet clean and up to standard and i liked the WiFi very much. the food is really good as well...if i have to stay in a hotel in Addis Ababa this would be my first choice. its near to the airport and where the city is HOT !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

i am a business traveler. i enjoy my stay in friendship international hotel. the receptionists are very friendly and helpful. the rooms are comfortable with reasonable price.the food was OK but the break fast needs improvement.
i recommend visitors to see this attractive staffs who apply the hospitality ethics.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethiopia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was relieved to know that the hotel is located just around the corner from the air port. As I arrived at the hotel I was amused to see such an attractive and well furnished hotel. The receptionist was warm and welcoming and I felt the touch friendship right there. The room was comfortable with a nice view for the city and the food was remarkable. It is my opinion to you to visit the hotel if you go to Addis and I can’t wait for my next stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josef r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is targeting a high end market, but is actually quite mediocre in various respects. The internet is patchy, the food is just OK, and the room is shabby. Yet the price is much higher than comparable hotels in this part of Addis. The part of my experience that drove me to submit this review was my experience of paying for my room, when the hotel told me that my card (which always works everywhere else) was "no good" and that they refused to call my bank. After being quite horrible about this, they finally tried "one last time" and of course my card worked then.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 119 in Addis Ababa
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 119 in Addis Ababa
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#21 of 119 in Addis Ababa
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Residence Suite Hotel
The Residence Suite Hotel
#15 of 119 in Addis Ababa
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siyonat Hotel
Siyonat Hotel
#34 of 119 in Addis Ababa
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 119 in Addis Ababa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship International Hotel

Property: Friendship International Hotel
Address: Africa Avenue, opposite to Alem Building, 200 meter inside, near to Robel Plaza, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 119 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Friendship International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Friendship International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing