We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, and clean & tidy hotel”
Review of Ag Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ag Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, and clean & tidy hotel”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is 4-5 kilometres from the city centre, but still quite accessible (despite the major road works nearby). The hotel is good value for money, and very comfortable. The staff were lovely - nothing was too much trouble - and the manager Genet could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    48
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
28
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel, and found it to be very lovely. We stayed here for 7 nights . With the whole of Addis dug up; I have to say the taxi driver had a hard time finding it but once we rang the hotel ( we have seen previous reviews) it was easily sorted. The rooms were meticulously clean, bathroom was well stocked. Bed was comfortable and we had quite restful nights. Loved the food in the restaurant, and the staff were polite, and very helpful .The local market is within walking distance, the wi fi is brilliant and we couldn't fault it. We highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay in it if we come back to Addis.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The AG Palace is central..but right now that means being in the middle of the subway mess. This makes it a little hard to access as the most direct route is blocked off. Once the subway is done however it will be very central. The rooms are small but fine and relatively quiet. The bathrooms are clean and water is hot and plentiful. The wi-fi is free and fast. The restaurant has excellent food - my son claimed it the best shirowat in all of Ethiopia

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainetSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for two nights recently while traveling on business, looking to get away from the pricey "Mega-hotel" properties that often are the preferred destinations for many westerners. I found this hotel to be ideal. It was nicely appointed, reasonably priced and clean with lovely small balconies that over look the city streets. its's true that the staff was exceptionally helpful, courteous and accommodating to myself and my colleagues. There is a wonderful, interesting market area a short walk from the hotel and for the adventurous, he central bus and taxi area is also nearby should you want to venture out across the city. Not too far from the airport either. Only one glitch that should be temporary is - The city is currently under massive construction for a future public transit/subway system and this could make it difficult to find for some taxi drivers. I expect this to be resolved within the next couple of years after which I imagine could make this a much more popular place with nearby subway access.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dckat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This was a fine, very tidy hotel and the staff are nice and welcoming. However, I found it rather pricey considering the size of rooms, breakfast spread, internet reliability, and...ok, what an *adventure* it was to find hotel's location each time with different drivers. Perhaps it was because it was high season or that the booking made just a few weeks in advance, but it seemed quite pricey to me ($294/night booked via Expedia, which was a bit less expensive than hotel's quote via phone, must be paid in advance during high season). Stayed here for a work trip so the spotty electricity/internet, though understandable, was a bit challenging. 

If you stay here, do make sure you have good directions to get there from the airport, particularly with main roads closed. Suggest you keep these directions about you during your trip as few people, including taxi drivers, know where the hotel is. When you start going down the 2nd dirt road on the right after passing the mosque on your left near the Shola market, you're going in the right direction. 

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palnackie
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here on a recent trip to Ethiopia. Had three separate nights in Addis and on the third we thought we'd try a smaller local hotel instead of the big international ones, which were six times the price!
The approach is a bit daunting. Down an unpaved back road on the eastern side of the city and surrounded by lots of run-down or dilapidated buildings. But once through the door, we were confident we had made the right choice. Welcome was warm and professional, (not always the case in Ethiopia). Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms perfectly servicable. Water hot and loos/drains not at all smelly. Wifi good and reliable. We had a dinner and a breakfast, both pretty good and to cap it all as we were checking out we asked the manageress for a taxi to take us to a friends house about five minutes drive away. No problem she said, I will drive you there myself, and she did! And if you do use taxis to navigate the city, ask the hotel for written instructions for taxi drivers to help them find the place. It seems they don't use street names, but landmarks instead.
Lots of nice little details suggested that there the management were experienced hoteliers, again unlike many or most smaller Ethiopian establishments.

Room Tip: Take earplugs. Like many inner city hotels your sleep can be interrupted by barking dogs, or other t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at AG Palace Hotel for 4 nights.
Very neat and well maintained rooms, clean bath rooms. Very good
choices of breakfast, the chef makes the best omellet.
Just a piece of advise, becareful of taxi drivers who tries to sell
you other hotels to get commission. We were disappointed at the
road leading to the hotel, as the main road was dug up ( we realised later the whole of Addis is dug up and they are remodelling all main roads) The driver took this to his advantage as We agreed to go with the with him, after going around with the driver for 2 hours, the hotel he took us was not acceptable and very poor rating ,expensive and similar roads. We end up paying double to the driver and drove us back to AG Palace.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd of 4th floor- they have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.8 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
225 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#9 of 118 in Addis Ababa
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ag Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ag Palace Hotel

Property: Ag Palace Hotel
Address: Mazorea 22 | P.O.Box 680, code 1110, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ag Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small quality driven hotel found in the heart of the Ethiopian capital, Addis Ababa, also known as the capital city of Africa.Ag Palace hotel offers a choice of both full hotel service operations as well as self catering facilities. Our portfolio includes standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel suites and single rooms . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ag Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing