We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Top Quality, Top Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ag Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ag Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Quality, Top Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

A 3 star that acts like a 4 star. Clean, hard surface bathrooms with good showers and dedicated water heaters backed up by a solid generator. White linens and good beds. I had my team of 5 stay here 2 weeks on business. The clean rooms and attentive service provided daily relief and recharge. I have already made future reservations. The restaurant makes local, Euro and USA cuisine and serves it with style - Clearly our team’s choice over any other restaurant around. The staff is cordial and attentive and well-supervised by the owner. Reliable, reasonable airport transfer. No downside here. Energetic neighborhood mellows out around 10 pm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
26
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I didn't actually stay at this hotel, but visited for lunch and must recommend it because of the food! It was probably the best meal we had in Ethiopia. Traditional Ethiopian food can get too much for us after a few days, and though you can get international food easily, it tends to be a bit bland and not too interesting, so we really appreciated the delicious spicy checken kebabs at the Ag Palace. We saw the rooms as well and they seemed nice, good value for money. Really nice and friendly staff, and a nice view from the rooftop terrace. Lots of construction around the hotel, but that's typical of Addis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
293 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the positive reviews that I read on Tripadvisor. To get to this locally owned hotel in the city centre one has to drive on an unasphalted road in the middle of construction which disappoints when you first arrive at the hotel.... But the hotel itself is a new building that opened last January with some 19 rooms spread over five floors but without an elevator. The reception is located on the first floor while the restaurant/bar is located on the ground floor. I had a room with a double bed (good matress and excellent linen) overlooking the back of the hotel (view of huts, buildings and green fields); there was a shower with good water pressure, a nice writing desk with a kettle and a bottle of mineral water, two comfortable chairs. Unfortunately light at night was coming through both the curtain at the window as well as from a window above the room door (overlooking the corridor); additionally there was noise both from the corridors and the outside as the window and door are not properly insulated. The breakfast and all the meals that I had at the hotel restaurant were good. The staff as all Ethiopians could not have been more accomodating and kind. Their English was good and tried to anticipate the guest's needs at all times. The hotel rate is indeed a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in a lower floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharjah
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This march I stayed in AG Palace hotel Addis for 6 nights. The hotel is new, the rooms are good, the decor is also good. They have a restaurant which gives a basic breakfast ( not too much selections). The chef will cook you dinner also.

One main advantage is that this hotel accepts credit cards. My stay was comfortable baring few issues. One is that this hotel is far away from the restaurants in Addis. One dog troubled my sleep on few nights.

The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: There is no lift. so request for rooms 101 to 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PVNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

They are new and clean but too much light and noise coming into the room during sleeping.
They gave us 3rd floor but no elevator. It was a bit tired to carry up myself and luggeges with this high attitude.
Restaurant was ok but very slow and expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

It`s a pleasure to write a good review. We only stayed 2 nights but spent lots of time at the hotel. The staff were exceptional, and spoke good English. The owners, two warm yet professional women went the extra mile for us. We each had four meals of which seven were out of this world, one was average. The chef is definitely world class. The immediate area is in a quiet neighborhood, and do not be taken back by the unpaved street that leads up to the premises. The room were not oversized but were very comfortable and came with a balcony. Once the roof top is furnished and completed with a bar, I can see many people spending their spare time up there enjoying the city view.

Room Tip: Grab a room with double balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry4Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The AG Palace is a wonderful out of the way Hotel. Fairly new but it has at least in my opinion managed to make a name for itself amongst the established hotels in Addis. The Hotel itself is very modern, stylish, comfortable and most of all it has "HOT" showers!
The staff is very professional, friendly and helpful. I have had the pleasure of meeting each and every staff memeber and must admit that they are all great! The front desk and kitchen staff are at your beck and call 24 hours a day and if the kitchen is going to closed for any reason after a certain time they will let you know in advance so you can order something.
The accommedations are 4 star and if you enjoy WIFI then this place will not let you down as the connection is great in your room and in the dining area.

Just want to say thank you all AG Staff for such a warm and pleasant stay.
I will be returning!!!!!

AG Palace "KONJO"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jalaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.8 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#7 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Weygoss Guest House
Weygoss Guest House
#43 of 109 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
10.8 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#6 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ag Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ag Palace Hotel

Property: Ag Palace Hotel
Address: Mazorea 22 | P.O.Box 680, code 1110, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ag Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small quality driven hotel found in the heart of the Ethiopian capital, Addis Ababa, also known as the capital city of Africa.Ag Palace hotel offers a choice of both full hotel service operations as well as self catering facilities. Our portfolio includes standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel suites and single rooms . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ag Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing