We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming place to stay”
Review of Jrome Guest House

Jrome Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jrome Guest House
Ranked #71 of 293 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in dec 2012.

The management is exceptionally friendly. Teddy, an Ethiopiawho grew up in the us, will go out of his way to help you.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The guesthouse has a relaxing atmosphere.

The guesthouse is located at bole Michael, at the intersection of the ring road and Rwanda St. This is an easy 2km (approx) ride from the airport and perhaps 6km or so to meskal square. You can take cheap minivans to get to/from the centre. For some destinations (eg piazza) buses run direct from bole Michael; for others it is necessary to go first to the nearby bole intersection by the airport (this may only be a temporary issue;there are roadworkson bole road causing traffic diversions at the moment). The minivan system is reasonably straightforward once you get the hang of it. Trips usually take between 30-60 mins. We would typically head in to the city for day trips and relax a the guesthouse in the evening, eating dinner at an excellent Indian restaurant nearby. Realistically, the location won't suit everyone, but we found it convenient, particularly when having early or late flights.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dalek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very cozy guesthouse and super friendly owners, always willing to help. The guesthouse is pretty close to the airport (with free pick up and drop off!) and yet not far from the city centre. Rooms are nice, bathrooms are clean and breakfast was divine! Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svolazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

teddy and kaly were very nice, driving me all around the city. they helped me in meeting the best people for my trip around ethiopia. free breakfast and free connections are a plus, taxis at the door, on bole michael roundabout. perfect for a relaxing time whenever no garden in the pension.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regisrage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

a very nice place to stay with lovely rooms (free water bottle and welcome tea) and great staff who take their time for you and willing to help with any problem. then it's very central and very close to the airport, plus: free pick up and bringing to the airport! i stayed a night only, but i'll definitely come back whenever i'll be in addis ababa again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadjaTipatet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

What a lovely relaxing place to stay. The owner and his nieces made me so welcome and took me out to the bank and for a meal which was such a lovely touch. Lovely room and I enjoyed all the cups of tea they gave me regularly! Would definitely visit again but this time I would make sure I read my email and take advance of the airport pick up. Thank you guys. X

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I can not say I felt at home, because actually I was at home.
The manager Jrome and his staff Kali and Teri are adorable and do whatever they can to make your stay as confortable as they can.
Just five minutes by taxi from the Bole Airport, the place is perfect for the first contact with Addis Ababa.
Jrome just arrive from Us where he lived for 25 years and he is trying to improve all the details in his brandnew guesthouse.

Definitly, I recommend.

Rafael Pacheco

Room Tip: They have two rooms and both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we really enjoyed staying at jrome guest house it was a very nice stay every thing was quite clean the bed were really nice the living room was very nice and clean the people were very helpful thank you and i hope to come back soon

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same but i stayed in back room it was very quite and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RimSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy K, Manager at Jrome Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you so much and come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 124 in Addis Ababa
143 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#2 of 124 in Addis Ababa
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
449 reviews
0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#19 of 124 in Addis Ababa
242 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#12 of 124 in Addis Ababa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jrome Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jrome Guest House

Address: Bole Michael, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $19 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home! It is one of the finest and most affordable guest houses in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing