We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Location!”
Review of Semien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Semien Hotel
Ranked #74 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Splendid Location!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here four nights on 5th floor, great views! Leak from the ceiling on first night lost some sleep but changed rooms next door. Lost an iPod in the process..hotel staff cagey about finding it. Maintenance very poor, so more problems likely. All meals local buffet with plenty of choice and reasonable so many locals drop in. Wifi works only in the lobby. Staff helpful but ignorant and many do not speak English. Close enough for the city's main sights and transport to and from the hotel very convenient.
Good value but you need cash as they do not take any cards.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
5
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was booked here by another organization who paid the business trip. I basically did not get hardly any sleep in the ten nights here. The rooms are fairly clean and the view from mine on the 5th floor was great. The water from my shower leaked up through the floor drain and came out in a trickly. There are cracks in the walls and some mold in the corners. The internet only works in the lobby which is a bit of a pain if you have work to do. The gym has some very good equipment to use but cramped. The restaurant has a good dinner buffet but breakfast is very Ethiopian so foreign travellers like me have little selection. My shaving cream was stolen from my room and when I advised the front desk they just smiled and said "thank you". The noise from the street at night, and ALL night, is unbearable. There must be no noise laws in Addis as the music pounds the hotel until sun up. I have slept 10 hours two nights in the row since coming home as I was so eshausted from the stay at Semien. Over the weekend there were two attempts to rob me and one con artist. One of the robberies was just around the corner of the hotel where a guy spit on me then as he wiped it off felt my pockets (after the first attempt I was not carrying any cash).

Room Tip: Any one NOT facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravellilng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The rooms are not big but they are clean and comfortable! We had hot water which was nice! The staff was very friendly and the service was great! The breakfast buffet was good! They also have W-FI in the Lobby! This is not a 5* but it was more than we were expecting for our first trip to Ethiopia !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've been staying at Semien for shorter and longer periods from 2009 to the present (November 2012). The hotel always had a congenial atmosphere, friendly and with an easy going feeling among the staff. The rooms are now overhauled and kept clean and functional. There is wifi - but it reaches only as far as the lobby. The small business centre has most of what you need for a business trip - fax, copier, computers. The hotel is located within easy reach of Mercato, close to the old city centre of Piazza and the old post office but quite a bit from the flashy places along the Bole road. The hotel is consquently not frequented by the beautiful people but mostly by Ethiopian business men and Ethiopian families. Its buffet lunches and dinners are widely appreciated. The "foreign" menu is OK but not spectacular.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back to avoid street noises. Religious noises from evangelical and orthodo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Soramba
Hotel Soramba
#83 of 118 in Addis Ababa
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 118 in Addis Ababa
421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ras Amba Hotel
Ras Amba Hotel
#52 of 118 in Addis Ababa
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#20 of 118 in Addis Ababa
26 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 118 in Addis Ababa
134 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semien Hotel

Property: Semien Hotel
Address: Belay Zeleke Street, Kebele 03/09, Addis Ababa 7658, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Hotel Class:4 star — Semien Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Semien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing