We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a gourmet experience - but hearty Italian food.”
Review of Club Juventus

Club Juventus
Ranked #32 of 265 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Don't expect a gourmet experience - but hearty Italian food.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is an institution in Addis: the club has been established during emperor's times and visiting the premises is some sort of time journey. Hardly anything seems to have changed since the 60th. The restaurant is cozy, waiters attentive and the food is good old style Italian. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    39
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Looks good but hygiene problems”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The pizza looks great, real Italian style in a wood oven. The problem is the ingredients were not fresh (especially the mozzarella I think). I could smell it was wrong but I still ate it because I was hungry. I got stomach problems the next day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor service and poor food quality”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am unsure how this place gets rated as one of the best in Addis Ababa! The place is over-run with expatriate kids and their families.
Food was received cold and under cooked and 3 of our party of 6 meal's were inedible. The waiting staff were not helpful and pre-occupied with 'regulars'
Very disappointed, but will try again to make sure we didn't have a one off bad experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgeo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the food quality in this restaurant is DELICIOUS for the really.good prices you get. The athmosphere in this restaurant is really good and feels like your in a western country. The place is almost always filled with people. But if your looking to go and eat something good thats the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hitripadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old style Italian”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stuck in the 70s this place offers a range of good italian food (the home made filled pastas are great) in old-style unpretentious setting. Just avoid the fake cream in the desserts and coffees during the fasting season!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoburgFacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Juventus also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Club Juventus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing