We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 127 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
277
Reviewed April 1, 2005

In a country like Ethiopia you accept that things don't always work like clock-work. However, when a hotel bills itself as not a normal Sheraton, but as the only Sheraton 'Luxury Collection' hotel in Africa your expectations rise accordingly.

The hitches started when we left customs for the Sheraton airport shuttle. Both the Hilton and Sheraton have shuttle desks and while the Hilton shuttle left right away, the Sheraton one waited for every single guest to clear customs.

To explain: If you haven't got an Ethiopian visa you need to first buy it at the airport and then go through immigration. This means that there is a gap of over an hour between the first and last people from a flight leaving the airport. The Sheraton is around a 15 min drive away outside of rush hour and so it can easily make two trips and still collect everyone.

Instead, most of us who arrived on the eight hour Lufthansa flight from Frankfurt had to hang around at the airport for the final few passengers to come through...and when we finally did set off we had to turn around again because the mini-bus had forgotten someone.

Then, when we arrived the check in desks (literally individual desks) were busy. However, we were just left standing around. None of the attendants called a waiting guest forward when their desk became free. Similarly when we left in the early hours of the morning, I was taken to task in quite a rude fashion for a 330 ml bottle of water that had still to be charged back to my room (they had my credit card details, so what's the problem?)

In fact the overall air of the hotel is pompous and stuffy as if the staff have had the luxury collection tag drummed into them - in the wrong way. Unlike it's only competitor in Addis, the Hilton, the atmosphere is cold which really makes you notice the difference between your surroundings and the shanty towns outside.

The rooms themselves are comfortable and the building is of a high standard. However, for a better atmosphere, better service and a cheaper price you could stay at the Hilton. Which incidentally has better facilities in terms of shops, a clinic, a gym and a better pool.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 786 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2005

Simply put, this is one of my favorite hotels in the world.

The staff is exceptional and consistently pleasant. The hotel assigns butlers to every floor of the hotel, so there is always someone to assist you -- whether it be room service or laundry needs. The hotel uses top quality toiletries, including some by Bvlgari, and the all marble bathroom is elegantly appointed, including enormous fog-free mirrors. There is a small sundries shop in the lobby and there's a travel agency on the premises. Internet service can be spotty, but that is more a function of the state of the country's telecom services than the hotel's technology. The gardens are beautifully maintained. The hotel has a fleet of air conditioned Volvo taxis that you can hire by the hour or just to drop you at your destination.

The restaurants (especially Shaheen and Stagioni) are fantastic. If you'd like to have a bite to eat poolside, Breezes is a fantastic place to spend your time in the "13 months of sunshine." If you're concerned about sun exposure, the staff will adjust the umbrellas there for you. Based on my experience, the raw vegetables in all of the Sheraton's restaurants are safe to eat.

I recommend requesting a room with a fountain view. These are on the back side of the hotel and provide stunning views of the mountains just beyond the city.

The only downside was that during my trip the hotel did not have a salon or spa on the premises, though massages and sauna are available near the pool area. Also, this hotel did not have a fitness facility during my last stay.

Have a macchiato at Fountain Court and then stroll out to the gardens to enjoy the fountain show synchronized to local and western music.

Although the rates are higher than all other hotels in the country, it's worth every penny. This is THE place to wake up after a 20 hour flight.

46  Thank ObservantGuest202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yasko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Uğur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: quartos do segundo andar tem terraços muito agradaveis com vista para o jardim interno
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shizu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank ruyctone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WasabiTofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 127 in Addis Ababa
821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 127 in Addis Ababa
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#11 of 127 in Addis Ababa
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 127 in Addis Ababa
143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#19 of 127 in Addis Ababa
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $386 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing