We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pricey and almost worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very pricey and almost worth it”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and the Sheraton is very good but I find US$390 excessive. Expedia did get in the way so that probably explained a chunk of it. Everything went very well until I tried to take up a kind offer by one of the staff to checkout and come back later to have a shower before heading off to the airport for my 00:40 am flight. Unfortunately this was not communicated to staff in charge of the facilities at the Swimming Pool ! My other option was to pay an additional 50% for a 6pm checkout; after that it would be 100%.
One of the trips down memory lane was brought on by the frequent power blackouts in the rooms (every 15 mins or so) which was reminiscent of traveling in China in the 90's. Not sure I want to pay almost 400 for the trip down memory lane though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    230
    68
    24
    17
See reviews for
59
102
62
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have stayed at the Sheraton many times. Service is always prompt and very friendly. Rooms are well appointed with all the amenities one may require for a business or leisure trip. They have a very good room service menu and the buffet breakfast is good. The only downfall of this property is that there is no gym. When paying $350+ per night, you would expect a gym.

A good hotel which is on the expensive side, but I do think you get what you pay for. Whenever I'm in Addis, I almost always stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowanesque, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Loved the place, great rooms very nice staff and the food was very good. I would highly recommend this to any and all travelers, views out the back were very nice. Service was as well as you should expect as the location goes...take time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantbagpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I normally stay at the Sheraton when I am in Addis Ababa on business. Thia time I was extremely disappointed. The service was sub par and something was lacking. First, our travel agent confirmed us hotel transportation. When we arrived we were told our transportation was waiting, we get to the parking lot and were told the transportation is for another customer and we were left waiting in the parkkng lot for 10 minutes and then told we had to wait for other guest. I wish they were up front a head of time. Then when we arrived at the hotel only some of the guest had to go through the medal detector. I don't understand. My itinerary showed a late checkout and the system did not. We had to explain why we needed a late checkout and see if the rooms were available. The service was off. The hotel grounds and pool area are beautiful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JK_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is one of the most luxurious hotels that can be found in Ethiopia. Staff is quite friendly and the room is pacious enough and has all amenities required. I enjoyed the swimming pool and the spa, I do recommend a good massage after along day of work. No compromise about cleanliness in the hotel, and the food was good especially in summerfield's restaurant, enjoyed a nice open buffet for dinner. The breakfast is relatively good, a big variety of choices but was not adequate to my taste, I'm not the kperson who enjoys soup, rice or chicken wings early in the morning...

Room Tip: Would be nice if you can get amroommwith a pool view, much better view than that on the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mohamedmanso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad to hear that your overall stay with us was to your expectation except the breakfast was not adequate to your taste.
Your feedback is very important to us and we hope you will have the possibility to return to us some time in the near future and we all wish you warm welcome back!

Sheraton Addis,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire,UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have given it only a Very Good as the service in the Summerfields restaurant was not good at all. Extremely slow on the three occasions we ate there lunch, dinner and breakfast. The staff seemed disinterested in serving their customers. The food, however, was excellent when it eventually arrived. The service in the tea room was, in contrast, very good indeed.
Very nice room, super comfy bed and bedlinen - all very clean. Bathroom fine and with shower gel, shampoo, tissues etc and hair dryer. All things we take for granted in hotels in many other countries but not so common in Ethiopia -yet. I would definitely choose to stay here in transit on any future trip to Addis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This 5 star hotel which I've been visiting for the third time is getting really old. In principle I like the hotel, but it is time to improve things on a wide basis. They should start to renovate it. The bathrooms fittings are getting real old, the shower was not working properly etc.
Furthermore, housekeeping should improve drastically for a 5 star hotel, when we arrived the room was unclean, and during our 9 days stay we were quite astonished about the low quality of cleaning the rooms. I found old French fries under the bed, the room was not vacuumed properly or at all etc.
At breakfast it takes them ages to serve coffee or tea, all in all the salesgirls in the hotel shops are quite unfriendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katamete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 118 in Addis Ababa
739 reviews
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
1,123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
2.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing