We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No local food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent a night at the Sheraton on business in December.
Nice property with a great pool area but unfortunately no fitness facility.
Rooms were nice and clean and the whole hotel was decorated for Christmas which was interesting. Price was high and despite previous reviews, there was no free wifi.
Tried the Indian buffet for dinner but there were few Indian dishes. It was a nice selection of different dishes but I don't think they could have called it "Indian". It would have been nice to have had a local food selection instead as it was disappointing not to have been able to try some Ethiopian dishes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVR-AKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    230
    68
    24
    16
See reviews for
59
102
62
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The service is amazing. It is pricey but great restaurants and bar/club on site. The staff is so friendly. The hotel is so elegant. Only down side is no gym but they will bring a stationary bike or treadmill to your room.

Room Tip: Get room plus breakfast deals. They have the most amazing continental breakfast with fresh juices, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senait F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Addis on Xmas Eve, a special occasion after traveling around Ethiopia. This is a fantastic hotel with unparalleled quality compared to anywhere else in country. Given, the rates are very high and probably a bit overpriced as would pay half this for same quality in US or Europe. But was nice occasion for us, and were able hotels.com rewards voucher, and were happy with our decision. The room was large and comfortable with lightning-fast internet (yes, this is included now in room rate) and large TV. Nice large patio overlooking the back fountain. Staff were attentive. Pool is fabulous. Several restaurants to choose from, we found very adequate as did not want to leave hotel (we had already spent several nights exploring the city). Location is convenient with effortless and free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a very short stay at the Sheraton upon our arrival in Addis Ababa. Though in was 10 PM, and there were 4 staff checking in a few quests, check-in took 20 minutes.

The room was spacious and well-appointed.

A late dinner at Summerfields was fine and appropriately priced.

Though for the room cost, I would recommend staying at the Hilton Addis Ababa which is less expensive; yet, with better service and amenities

Room Tip: A room on a high floor will provide a good view of Addis Ababa, although there is nothing to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csttoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Visited the hotel on Valentines Day for concert and drinks at the outdoor bar.

The place was packed: popular with residents, expats, and travelers.

The hotel, the boutiques, restaurants, are all top of luxury for Ethiopia! Good quality, good security, and good atmosphere. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Sheraton Addis! It was a pleasure to read your comments and we are glad to hear that we have exceeded your expectation. The management and the team promise to keep up the good work. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with other guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a great stay here from the moment we arrived and met at the airport and transferred in complimentary bus to the Hotel without fuss. The arrival is very grand and only spoiled a little by the understandable level of security upon entering but once inside the staff were all very friendly.

We were given a really nice room on the fourth floor and amenities and cleanliness of the room were great. Breakfast was ok but overpriced if you consider costs of the rest of the country. We were well assisted by both Mesfin from Guest Relations and Hneok from Concierge who will provide you with any info you need on potential trips.

The pool was also a welcome respite from the hot days and we used it regularily. Whilst we didnt use the restaurants too much as preferred to east outside sampling lcoal cuisine, all seemed of a good standard.

Was always nice to come back to and if your budget allows, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 225Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I'm sure that when you tell people not to consider price when reviewing a hotel in Addis, the Sheraton would win 10 / 10 times.

I've been to Addis 5 times now in 2 years... and never stayed at the Sheraton until my most recent trip. Why? Price! I'm not paying $350 per night to rest my head in Ethiopia, ha!

This time, however, I used some SPG points to book a room for my wife and I as well as some friends of ours. I have been to the Sheraton numerous times to eat, have coffee, etc. in the past, but this was the first time I spent the night.

After being in Ethiopia for 7 nights already, it was nice to stay at a hotel with very good water pressure, almost soundproof rooms, soft beds, and very dependable and fast wifi. I woke up in the middle of the night at one point and thought... "am I still in Ethiopia?"


Being SPG Gold, I had access to the complimentary breakfast in the Club on the 4th floor - VERY excellent offerings!

Bottom line, this is the nicest place in Addis. The pool, jacuzzi, restaurants, rooms, service... it's all top notch and cannot be matched. It's just when you factor in the price of a room that the hotel looses it's really place at the top. With new hotels coming in every month around Addis, the Sheraton will have some new competitors in the future (Radission Blu, e.g.)

Room Tip: If you are SPG Gold or higher, make sure they put you on the 4th floor (Club floor), which comes wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank econometricsquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and we are delighted to read that you felt recognized as a highly valued SPG Gold member.

The way you describe the facilities, atmosphere and service, is exactly what we strive to provide every guest of Sheraton Addis!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#11 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
1.7 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing