We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to up their service quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Need to up their service quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have been going to this property regularly (about theree times a year, on average one week each). Unfortunately I am seeing a continuous decline in the quality of service, which used to be top notch.

To clarify - the property is nice. It is VERY clean and quality of amenities are great. But my recent experience showed that guests should NOT expect to rely on services: First, check in was chaotic, it took 15 minutes to talk to an agent. The fact that they check in at little tables is nice, but it prevents the formation of a proper line, so frequently guests cut the line and this causes unnecessary tension during check in. Also, there is no separate check in for loyalty program members (I am SPG gold, in other luxury collection properties I check in thru fast track, not here).

Second, the concierge service was VERY disappointing. I wanted to organize a working lunch in the city's most re-known restaurant (Castelli's). The concierge did not have their lunch hours and could not reach them by phone. He sent us there saying it should be OK, but the place was shut when we got there. In other luxury hotels I have stayed, the concierge would know the information of the best restaurants in town like the back of their hand and have their numbers on their cell phone. The next day, we wanted to go to the nearby art gallery of St George's. We asked concierge to call the gallery to make sure they were open, and the same exact problem happened; we got there and it was closed.

Third, we wanted to grab lunch at the italian restaurant in the property. When we got there, only two tables were taken yet they told us it was going to take about 10 minutes to sit down. When we asked why, we were told it would take that long to set the tables (all tables, which were empty with the exception of two tables, were set up by the way). So we started to wait. And after 5 minutes were shown to our table which was empty and already set when we had walked in.

Fourth, the absence of the gym is bad AND they charge you Birr 200 if you want to take advantage of their partnership with a gym in the city. Seriously???

In sum, I will return to this property, but keep my expectations for service to a bare (and I mean, really bare) minimum.

PS: There is a tremendous mark up at the hotel taxis. If you want market prices, walk out of the outer gate and cross the street. There is a group of taxis that are solid and on average cost half the taxis in the hotel.

PPS: The nearby art gallery of St. George is worth checking out and is less than a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Avoid the the rooms above the bar where they have live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OnurWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Genova
Level Contributor
191 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very big Hotel, quite well kept, with acceptable rooms and a nice garden. But also extremely expensive and offering a slow and unefficient service. And it is absolutely unacceptable that an hotel of such category and especially of such price does not have a fittness center...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
385 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is in the standard of what one would expect from a Sheraton; The Saudi Arabian owner made good investments in the infrastructure and the whole area is quite nice.
Long time to register.
Unfortunately we hav been there in coincidence with the African Union Annual Assembly; many head of States, Ministers and politicians were in the Hotel and normal guest were a bit neglected and many inconveniences due to security or similar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marioviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, returning at the end of the trip with friends who were staying prior to our late flight departure. It seems like this is the hotel where those Ethiopians who have money come to hold events. Security scanner at entrance, very busy reception. Had drinks in sports bar which was nice - didn't eat in restaurants there but ate at interesting Italian restaurant - Castelli (booking essential) in Addis which is worth recommending - you could be in 50s Italy. Bedrooms large and comfortable, bathroom - good pressure/hot water etc. Stayed on exec floor and ate breakfast there which was quiet, omelette awful but fried eggs good. No free wifi unless you are on exec floor or gold member. 12 US dollars which I thought was steep for Addis. Business centre let me print boarding passes for 30 birr. There is a new Raddison Blu Hotel which could be worth a try if trying to find a modern 5star hotel as Sheraton one is a little old fashioned but nice enough. Staff helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Staying at the Addis Regency Hotel (a great place by the way) and decided to stop in at the Sheraton for lunch. The Sheraton may be a good place to stay, but the food we were served was horrible. The tuna fish panini was cold and tasted rotten. I had to spit out the first and only bite. The ceaser salad consisted of bitter greens in a soup of runny milk-like dressing. No anchovies as advertised in the menu. The service was horribly slow (35 minute wait with only 4 tables occupied). The Castile beers were delicious and that was all we paid for. Made it back to the Regency and had a perfectly cooked Philly Cheesesteak!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red6ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Grand hotel, a very European ambience large rooms, and extensive grounds. Very pleasant staff the airport representative is very helpful. Very classy property not cheap but good value.

As it was Christmas the hotel was beautifully decorated felt more like the US than Africa

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the 'office' bar as the music can be clearly heard in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, The Management at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for sharing your experiences of the hotel with others. We are also pleased to read that you are satisfied with our facilities and service which we always strive to keep it up.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Addis Ababa.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Centrally located with easy access to taxis and other means of transport. Not far from the airport. Property is large and sprawling with manicured grounds, pool and fountains, The roses are spectacular. Good assortment of restaurants and bars. Good for business or a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
1.5 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#2 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#4 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#26 of 92 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#12 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing