We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not worth” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Genova
Level Contributor
196 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Not worth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very big Hotel, quite well kept, with acceptable rooms and a nice garden. But also extremely expensive and offering a slow and unefficient service. And it is absolutely unacceptable that an hotel of such category and especially of such price does not have a fittness center...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    222
    65
    23
    14
See reviews for
54
95
59
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
440 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is in the standard of what one would expect from a Sheraton; The Saudi Arabian owner made good investments in the infrastructure and the whole area is quite nice.
Long time to register.
Unfortunately we hav been there in coincidence with the African Union Annual Assembly; many head of States, Ministers and politicians were in the Hotel and normal guest were a bit neglected and many inconveniences due to security or similar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marioviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, returning at the end of the trip with friends who were staying prior to our late flight departure. It seems like this is the hotel where those Ethiopians who have money come to hold events. Security scanner at entrance, very busy reception. Had drinks in sports bar which was nice - didn't eat in restaurants there but ate at interesting Italian restaurant - Castelli (booking essential) in Addis which is worth recommending - you could be in 50s Italy. Bedrooms large and comfortable, bathroom - good pressure/hot water etc. Stayed on exec floor and ate breakfast there which was quiet, omelette awful but fried eggs good. No free wifi unless you are on exec floor or gold member. 12 US dollars which I thought was steep for Addis. Business centre let me print boarding passes for 30 birr. There is a new Raddison Blu Hotel which could be worth a try if trying to find a modern 5star hotel as Sheraton one is a little old fashioned but nice enough. Staff helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Staying at the Addis Regency Hotel (a great place by the way) and decided to stop in at the Sheraton for lunch. The Sheraton may be a good place to stay, but the food we were served was horrible. The tuna fish panini was cold and tasted rotten. I had to spit out the first and only bite. The ceaser salad consisted of bitter greens in a soup of runny milk-like dressing. No anchovies as advertised in the menu. The service was horribly slow (35 minute wait with only 4 tables occupied). The Castile beers were delicious and that was all we paid for. Made it back to the Regency and had a perfectly cooked Philly Cheesesteak!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red6ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Grand hotel, a very European ambience large rooms, and extensive grounds. Very pleasant staff the airport representative is very helpful. Very classy property not cheap but good value.

As it was Christmas the hotel was beautifully decorated felt more like the US than Africa

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the 'office' bar as the music can be clearly heard in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, The Management at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for sharing your experiences of the hotel with others. We are also pleased to read that you are satisfied with our facilities and service which we always strive to keep it up.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Addis Ababa.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Centrally located with easy access to taxis and other means of transport. Not far from the airport. Property is large and sprawling with manicured grounds, pool and fountains, The roses are spectacular. Good assortment of restaurants and bars. Good for business or a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Sheraton in Addis is impressive as you arrive. It is in a quiet area, and we felt very safe. However, it is rather isolated, although you can find taxis to take you any where you want. We checked out other Trip Advisor top rated hotels, and although I didn't love the Sheraton, it was still the best of what we saw.

The rooms are sort of standard Sheraton fare, nothing bad but nothing great. Clean. But I must say I was shocked at the prices. Way more than you would expect to pay in this part of the world. We had our breakfasts at the hotel, which was fine, but the one dinner we had was inedible. It seemed as though the food was days old and had just been reheated. Not good at all. Note that when we were there, at least, they told us there was an Ethiopian law making it ILLEGAL to use skype or other VOIP to make phone calls! Also, there was a sign on the in-room safe recommending that the safe NOT be used, and to store valuables in the main hotel safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NANCY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 110 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 110 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
12.2 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 110 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 110 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#7 of 110 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing