We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Middle of Addis Ababa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After a frustrating time exiting Addis Ababa airport and driving through barren streets only to arrive at the grand gates of the Sheraton Addis.
Once through the equally grand main entrance (and the obligatory metal detector) you enter a 5 star hotel which is the equal of it's counterparts worldwide. The staff are very attentive and helpful, everything is very slick and it works.
What is unfortunate is that Addis Ababa is so very different than the hotel. Addis is poor, really poor. Everything in the hotel is expensive and I felt guilty staying in my plush room and paying for a breakfast that was probably more than a months salary of some of the staff who work there. Although expensive I felt a little better by giving generous tips to all the staff that had been so helpful!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receiving your feedback means a lot to us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very pleased to hear that our associates are attentive, helpful and also that everything was very efficient and to your expectation. As a luxury collection brand hotel, we always strive to deliver exceptional and memorable experiences to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sheraton Addis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 769 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

It is probably the best hotel in Addis Abeba. I got there while in transit in Ethiopia, and instead of booking the hotel I usually stay in while in Addis, I decided to check out Sheraton Addis.

The first shock comes when they slap you with the price - a whopping USD400 per night. It has to be said though that I didn't book it online or through agency, but did it while in Bole Airport, and good hotels in Sub Saharan Africa are generally expensive.They wanted to give me this rate exclusive of breakfast, but after a short opinion exchange with the booking desk clerk, their kindness have descended upon me and the breakfast was eventually included.

The hotel looks luxurious, on the outside. The interior was a bit disappointing. Few booking desks spread in the lobby, overcrowded. Door knobs that don't work, dirty moldy corners here and there in the room and bathroom. The service is very quick and efficient.

The breakfast is a mix of continental/ethiopian food. I love both, so I enjoyed it. The shuttle from and to the airport is available on comparatively short notice.

In general, Sheraton hold its brand high over there, but I'd say that this hotel suits the participants of conferences and forums, rather than a casual tourist or business traveller - insanely overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A magnificent hotel in beautiful surroundings but so out of keeping with the rest of Addis as to be unbelievable. Visited for a buffet meal and was charged $42, 5 times more than at any other hotel. The buffet would be roundly criticised in any international hotel anywhere in the World for value,quality and choice. All right if you are on a business trip with all expenses paid but not justifiable otherwise

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Truly one of the finest hotels that I have had the pleasure of staying at in the world! Everything was exceptional: spotlessly clean rooms and common areas combined with strikingly spacious rooms accompanied by fine furnishings, great air conditioning and wonderful televisions. All this and a wonderful buffet and courteous conscientious staff to pull it all together. It was really a two night stay in heaven....

Unfortunately, the hotel is located virtually amidst a slum with poverty and filth abound and therefore really is the oasis in the middle of nowhere. With all this said, a fine establishment, but expensive to the point of being overpriced. However, if you need to reside in Addis Ababa, there is no real competition!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback after your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us and had the chance to observe the uniqueness of the hotel as you mentioned in your review that “It was really a two night stay in heaven”. We will definitely keep up the good work! We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Addis Ababa.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in July 2012. The hotel itself is striking; a collection of marble, brass and glass. The staff are all excpetionally friendly, and very helpful. The room itself was big - it had a comfortable bed, a large desk, a HUGE TV, and they bring you platters of fresh fruit which was nice. They also had a bucket of beers waiting for me on arrival which was a really nice touch, and needed after a busy few days in Nairobi. The Restaurants are all really good, although I don't recommend ordering a la carte from the restaurant that mainly does the breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet - as that took some time to arrive. Better off going to the main restaurants or ordering room service. The spa has somewhat of the Hammam about it, and despite being quite small, very never overcrowded. There is a great bar there, and a nightclub if you can't be bothered going out in town. We did briefly pop our heads into the nightclub, but it was fairly quiet, and we were heading out into Addis anyway.

It's not the cheapest place in town, and it may be a little over-priced if you're used to Western hotels, but compared to the competition, I think it's worth every penny. Overall a fantastic hotel, had a great stay there and will definitely be going back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeastMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I notice there is problem with taxi service that the hotel proved to pickup visitors from airport to hotel.

To avoid fair disagreement a flat rate could solve this problem 
5 star hotel can appoint one representative collectively and the costumers can avoid dealing directly with taxi driver.. Once customers pay the bill at the taxi counter the taxi representative call taxi and no cash exchange upon arrivals the taxi driver get receipt for cash at the hotel

At the airport a taxi stand created where all hotel taxi park and register with hotel taxi agent.

Registering the taxi helpful in case the costumers  forget any thing there will be recourse.

The hotel also manage the taxi driver behavior any bed apple can be banned   

Room Tip: I didn't stay at sheraton addis... I just want help sheraton addis and other 5 star hotel in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A striking hotel that, on closer inspection, doesn't always hold up. The attentiveness and friendliness of staff vary greatly. My room was not that clean, and some of the shower hardware had fallen into disrepair. The staff in the Italian restaurant was very pleasant, and the food there was top-notch. It has the feel of a self-contained compound, discrete from the city, which may be very attractive to some. Metal detector in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank js4088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 124 in Addis Ababa
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#10 of 124 in Addis Ababa
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 124 in Addis Ababa
141 reviews
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $365 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing