We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Addis (By Far!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Addis (By Far!)”
Reviewed January 24, 2008

A work colleague and I stayed at the Sheraton Addis for 10 days in Jan. 2008. It was a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

On arrival at Bole Airport, there is a free shuttle service to the hotel. The waiting/seating area is immediately visible as one comes through the arrivals gate and apparently the shuttle meets every incoming flight. The trip to the hotel takes approx. 5 - 10 mins. depending on the time of day/night. We also took the shuttle back to the airport on our departure. This is also a free service and just needs to be arranged with the concierge on the day of departure.

Our twin room was spacious and attractively decorated. It contained two comfortable single beds, a couple of easy chairs, a TV-DVD combo, an office desk and chair, a mini-bar, and double doors to a small balcony.

The bathroom was also large and well fitted out. The toiletries were nice and replenished daily. The water may be used to brush ones teeth, etc. as, I understand, it comes from a spring on the premises (though it is probably still not suitable for drinking).

There are a number of options for accessing the Internet. The cheapest option is to use the Business Centre on the first floor where 6 computers are available for the use of guests at a cost of ETB2 per minute (with a 10 minute minimum). If one has a laptop it's also possible to get access in your room: 24 hours of in-room access costs ETB249, while 1 hour costs c.ETB149. I found the in-room service to be generally fast and fairly reliable, though on one occasion it was terribly slow and it did go down altogether on a couple of occasions.

The electricity also flicked off at least once daily! Though the generator kicks in almost immediately, it can be a bit of a shock if one is in the bathroom when this occurs as one is pitched in to total blackness. And, of course, if one is showering, the water also turns off!

The hotel has a wealth of amenities on site. These include a number of nice restaurants including an Italian, an Indian, a buffet restaurant, a pool-side restaurant, and a fancy French restaurant. We found the Indian to be particularly good and probably also the best value, though we also ate in the buffet, the Italian, and the pool-side restaurant/grill. In terms of shopping, there is a small 'general store' that stocks a limited range of gift items, a selection of books and magazines, some toiletries, etc.; there is also a nice flower shop, an expensive jewellery store, a laundry, and a nice bakery/cake shop.

There is a small bank on the premises and an ATM in the lobby. It should be noted that those small number of shops in Addis that take credit cards will only accept Visa. This is also true of the Sheraton (except, of course, that they will accept all manner of CCs for payment of the actual hotel bill!). I was told that the only shops that would accept MasterCard were those at the Hilton. The Sheraton ATM, which is one of only a few in Addis that takes foreign ATM cards, also only takes those in the Visa 'family.' The front desk will, however, give you a cash advance (in ETB) that can be added to your hotel bill.

The Sheraton has very nice grounds with a lovely grassy pool area with loungers and waiter service. The heated pool is large with a shallow end that is roped off from the deeper part and a separate childrens play area with a slide, etc. The pool is open from 5am to 11pm and can be quite crowded at weekends.

There are a number of bars on the premises. A pretty good live band plays in the outdoor bar on Wednesday and Thursday nights and there is a nightclub operational on Friday and Saturday nights.

Overall, I found the Sheraton Addis to be a very comfortable place to stay. There were some minor gripes: the bottled water in our room was not replenished regularly, there were some minor errors on our bill, etc., but overall I was pleased with the level of service and I would have to say that the Sheraton is the best hotel in Addis by far.

  • Liked — Impressive and clean accommodations, good food, gorgeous flower-filled compund
  • Disliked — Very expensive
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OranGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    233
    71
    25
    17
See reviews for
61
102
62
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Sheraton Addis is the top hotel in Ethiopia: Best amenities, restaurants, well equipped rooms, etc. However, it lacks the small things that make a true 5 star hotel that could justify the 300 USD (tax included) night fare and the Luxury Collection affiliation. The design of both public spaces and rooms has no originality and reminds terribly 1980’s hotels in Gulf States. Some places, including the Aqua Club Jacuzzi are hideous. Rooms are very comfortable (great beds) but could have been more tasteful especially for SPG floor. Reception and service are not very flexible and welcoming. For instance, they charge a 60 USD supplement for early check-in, that applies even one hour before official time (3 PM), and even for SPG members. Room service can be very slow – you starve before they bring your fruits – or, at the contrary, too much present – they insist on bringing you the morning newspaper to the room even if the privacy button is on. With all these disappointments, there is nothing else in the country if we except the Hilton, less glittering but more homey.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BaronBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Unexpected levels of luxury in one of the poorest regions of Africa, driven no doubt by the presence of loads of UN people, African Development Bank meetings, etc.
Great location, a chance to sample actual Ethiopian food (recommended by knowledgeble and enthusiastic staff) as well as the usual 'international' stuff.
Expensive, but well worth it.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

The more time I spent in Ethiopia, the more I got to appreciate the Sheraton. We used to stay at the Hilton but don't any more because it's gotten quite rundown.

I don't have much to add to the other reviews but if you are trying to decide whether to stay at the Hilton or the Sheraton, here are the pros and cons:

Hilton's location is a little bit more central and it has a health club and excellent shopping both for souveneirs and toiletries. Sheraton has better food, the rooms are nicer and it has less shopping. The Hilton sometimes has water shortages. The Sheraton has wi-fi in the lobby and broadband in the rooms. (not free)

  • Liked — the roti in the Indian restaurant
  • Disliked — the lack of a health club
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our tour of Ethiopia and loved this place. Our flight arrived in the middle of the night and were were greeted by a Sheraton employee at the airport and taken to the hotel in a luxurious Mercedes van. The check in was a breeze and we went to our club level room (we have SPG platinum card) where an extra bed was waiting for our son as well as a child size bathrobe. The room had free water bottles, fruitplate and Ethiopian candy and cookies.
The room was nicer than a room in a regular Sheraton, because this hotel is part of the Luxury Collection. The marble bathroom was spotless and the bed heavenly. The only problem we had was that I requested a foam pillow which was brought to the room promptly. At 4 a.m. when we had just falled in sleep the reception called and woke us up by asking if we had received the pillow.
We enjoyed all our meals at the hotel and they were excellent. We especially liked the buffet restaurant where you could try various Ethiopian dishes as well as Italian, Indian and French cuisine prepared by the restaurant's French chefs. The hotel also has a bakery in the shopping area, a la carte restaurant, lobby bar where you can order hamburgers and similar food and a pool restaurant.
The pool was large and heated. The grounds were beautiful.
To enter the hotel everyone has to walk through a metal detector and put their bags through a machine like at the airport. It felt safe.
If you are staying on the club floor you can go to the business lounge for a happy hour of free food and drinks. The hotel also has a bank with a competitive exhange rate. Every day we ordered a car to take us around town. The car was always very nice with an English speaking driver. One day the fare was double. It was due to the fact that the car was a Mercedes.

Our two kids loved this hotel also and it was very child friendly to us. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Liked — Quality of the property
  • Disliked — smoking allowed in the lobby
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank givemesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

This hotel is eye opening. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, whether in Ethiopia or otherwise.

The gardens and fountains are amazing, and the appointments are lavish. They have a great musical fountain which is very entertaining, although not up to vegas standards it is pretty fantastic to see this in Ethiopia. In fact, the contrast from the hotel to the shanty's next door (over the very high fence) was a little uncomfortable.

However, we were very dissapointed with the service - the staff were quite rude and this was very unusual for our Ethiopian trip.

We travel a lot with our daughter, who is very well behaved, but the staff were especially unhelpful (flat out rude really) to us. So, although they have an amazing children's playground in the grounds and a great pool, the staff made it very clear that they are catering to the wealthy business person crowd and don't want people with kids to stay here!

One evening we were actually asked to leave an outdoor area because children were not allowed, although there was no sign to that effect. The staff had just delivered us drinks and a snack, so we said we'd happily move once we'd finished these items, but the "manager" insisted we move right away! I was put out by this, and asked them why they hadnt informed us of this when we sat down and they took our order - since now my daughter, who was hungry, got quite cranky that she could not get her snack after we had been waiting for 20 minutes for our food. Heck, she is 3, I was hungry and a bit cranky too! They gave us some baloney about children not being allowed here because smoking is allowed, but it was outdoors and no one was smoking around us. The place was filling up with business people but our daughter was being very well behaved and I doubt anyone would have noticed she was even there. I think it was more that we were dressed quite casually having been out sightseeing in Addis that day, and perhaps didnt "fit" with their target clientele. I am totally speculating but I still have no idea what the problem was!

So then, they offered to move our drinks and food to another area, and promptly took us into a smokey cigar lounge type area! I would never take my daughter into a place like that, plus this totally discredited their reason for asking us to leave so we complained and finally they put us in the lobby. The experience was very odd- particularly again considering the usual polite nature of Ethiopians and our mellow nature, which usually leads to us being treated well wherever we go! Our Ethiopian hosts, who were with us, were mortally embarrassed by this and kept apologizing for days!

A very good example of how bad service can let down a billion dollar investment.

We found the service at the Hilton and Ghion by comparison amazing, although those hotels are older and less lavish, we'd choose them instead next time.

In addition, it is horribly expensive for Addis, on a par with a Sheraton anywhere in terms of room prices but the food and drinks are more than we would have paid in the US.

We would recommend seeing it just for the experience but don't expect to be treated well just because you are spending a lot of money there and being polite to them.

  • Liked — Lavish grounds and appointments
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank KiwiCowgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2007

My two week stay was fine. Its an elegant setting, a little distance from the poverty of Addis. The overall service was average, only because of atitudes of some of the workers. I especially enjoyed the jacuzzi and the pool. Another highlight was a group of African-Americans who sang Motown sounds at one the hotels bars. The room service food was average and at times too salty.
But the view, the comfort of the rooms and security made my stay one that I would repeat.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Bio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 118 in Addis Ababa
754 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#12 of 118 in Addis Ababa
1,145 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing