We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Addis Ababa institution” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Addis Ababa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Addis Ababa
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“An Addis Ababa institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

We have been staying here every year for the last six years and each year I find I like it more. On the plus side, it is used almost like a weekend club for some Addis residents who come on the weekend to use the pool. You may well spot Haile Gebre Selassie or one of the foreign correspondents from international newspapers. A number of UN workers also come here, so it is a good place to find out about the country and the more remote areas, and whether they are safe to travel to. On the downside, there is a somewhat basic feel to some of the bedrooms. They would certainly be comparable to those of a three star in Italy or Spain. If you want something more 4 star, consider upgrading to the club floor levels which offer much more comfort. The views from the club floor are also worth seeing. Plus, this is Addis, so you have to benchmark it against the competition and it does pretty well. All in all, if you accept that you're not in Europe or the US, you'll have a decent stay. If you need a 5 star experience, then go for the Sheraton, but expect to pay a lot more.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    394
    326
    147
    57
See reviews for
86
80
135
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

The hotel was opened in 1969, the common parts are dated but in a good state of repair. The rooms are very tiered in appearance although clean. The rooms need a complete refurbishment they are straight out of the 1970's.

Some of the grounds are also appear abandoned and not well cared for.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrbiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Although this hotel is quite expensive, I think it is worth every birr. The staff is very helpful, food is good, the bar is a meeting place for locals, expats and tourist and the ambiance is nice. The hotel has good facilities: it is like a little village with shops, fitness, different restaurants, a hearsalon etc. etc. I gave the swimming pool a miss: a sign warning people not to go in the pool while having open wounds, not to spit and blow there nose, put me of swimming…..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

I returned to Ethiopia after 13 years and stayed at the Hilton Hotel in Addis because the other alternative was the ridiculously priced Sheraton. At $275 for b&b and an additional $25 for internet connectivity, the Hilton is also not cheap. However the rooms have not been upgraded at all, the carpets are threadbare, the rooms stink of Ethiopian curry and the bathrooms are barely functional. I would rate this hotel 2 star!

On the second visit despite having prior reservation and being Hilton HHonors member I was given rooms at the garden wing where the rooms smelt of tobacco smoke, had no safes nor any air-conditioning. These rooms were very poor, but it being late in the night I was tired and just went to sleep.

What is interesting is that I was with a colleague who got upgraded to a better room without him having to complain, but the Hilton didn’t bother extending the same service to me despite checking in together and I was the one who brought my company’s business to the Hilton. I think it is also a clear case of racism.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurajShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Addis Ababa hotels

Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

This is typical for the HIltons outside of the US, the hotels were built 20 years ago but don't get renovated. Although the rooms were clean, the amenties are so old that they never really feel clean. The lobby was always smokey. Breakfast was good and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billionmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

The central location, the quiet and relaxed atmosphere inside, the superb food, the excellent swimming pool, the spacious rooms, the friendly and professional service... and all at less than USD 100 a night was an absolute steal - especially compared to 5-star hotels in India, which charge astronomical prices (around USD 400-500 per night) for similar quality of service. The bar is usually packed, but you could use the bar outside by the pool to enjoy a quiet drink. The lobby is always alive with activity, but in an unhurried sort of way. The doormen are always helpful. The business centre is friendly and efficient, and there are several shops selling a wide range of items at attractive prices: it is almost impossible to enter one of these shops and not end up buying something! The pool-side is where several families come in to relax on weekends but it is never uncomfortably full. There is always something to do through the day and through the week ... whether you are alone, with your partner or the full family!
Overall, a most enjoyable experience - and although I have stayed three times already in the last 3 years, I always look forward to returning...

  • Liked — Location, quality of service, value for money
  • Disliked — Front desk can get quite busy sometimes and you have to hang around for a while...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ajjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is the location, you can walk everywhere. The swimming pool water was from the local springs and was lovely and warm. It was a great place for a chill out and just relax. Because of the location you could walk out side the gates and you are around the local pubs, restaurants, and culture. You were not restricted to eating in the hotel. Having said that it was the absolute best pizza in Ethiopia, made by Mr Lindsi - just perfect. And the piano bar is the best bar I've ever been to - just the right size and so friendly and a great view.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatnafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.9 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
1.3 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Addis Ababa

Property: Hilton Addis Ababa
Address: Menelik II Avenue, Addis Ababa 1164, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#12 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Addis Ababa 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Addis Ababa is situated in the heart of the political capital of Africa. This landmark hotel in Ethiopia is inspired by the famous Lalibella Cross Church and is complete with its own outdoor geo-thermal swimming pool, plus an 18-hole mini-golf field. This unique hotel in Ethiopia is set on 15 acres of lush foliage, surrounded by expansive gardens. Each of the elegant guest rooms and suites offers a balcony with scenic views overlooking the gardens, mountains or the city skyline. Hilton Addis Ababa also provides a wide range of recreational options including a fitness center, tennis courts, outdoor geo-thermal pool, indoor squash court and mini-golf. Choose from a variety of restaurants and bars in Hilton Addis Ababa, offering exceptional menus, live entertainment and romantic settings. Host a meeting in one of our sophisticated event spaces or catch up with work in the business center. The hotel also features a 24-hour bank and tour operator and is the only hotel in Ethiopia with parking for more than 600 cars. Conveniently located close to Bole International Airport, this Addis Ababa hotel is situated across from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, National Palace and major ministries, and is only five minutes from the ECA conference center, the premier business destination in Ethiopia. Discover nearby attractions including Meskel Square, the Parliament building and the Ethiopian National Museum. Highlights: •15 minutes from Bole International Airport •3 meeting rooms and ballroom for up to 600 guests •6 restaurants and bars Fitness center, health club and outdoor pool •24-hour business center with translation services •Airport shuttle bus every two hours; private transportation is available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Addis Ababa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Addis Ababa Hotel Addis Ababa
Hilton International Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing