We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not hilton service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Addis Ababa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Addis Ababa
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not hilton service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Room almost clean and wide BUT Service is very poor
stuff not frindly and they put charge for internet for 1 hour 6 USD and there is no air condition in the rooms
the hotel is in isolated area no super market becide and no free service at all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdallah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you faced with our facilities and service. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments.

To answer your thoughts regarding the condition of the building, the hotel has been scheduled for major refurbishment for a while now and the plans are soon to be finalized, we realize that this has been a long drawn out affair and again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused but we are seeing very positive steps being taken for this process to begin especially with the arrival of our new Hilton Serenity Beds and Flat screen TV's.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    372
    318
    146
    53
See reviews for
80
76
126
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

You really know what you are getting with Hilton: generally good service and a safe, secure and clean hotel. Unfortunately you have to pay up for that. Everything is expensive: the room rates, the internet usage, the food etc. There a number of things going for the hotel: a (busy) pool in nice gardens, a good central location, a half-decent gym. The "spa" is too grim for that name however. Wifi only works in the lobby and by the pool but is pretty fast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you faced with our facilities and we are happy that many of our facilities are up to your expectation. I have passed on your comments to the team.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Level Contributor
178 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here one night en route to Seychelles. The hotel staff were very attentive and pleasant even though we were on a voucher from the airline. Apart from the dreary rooms (they were clean, but so old that it looked dirty), the hotel lobby and grounds are beautiful. We saw some great birds from our back balcony. The pool was nice, and the massage I had at the spa was good and well priced (about 20 USD for 1 hr). The buffet at breakfast and dinner was included in our voucher and despite the wide variety, I had a hard time finding meat and veg that were not terribly over-cooked, even when we got there when it opened. All in all, I would stay here again but hope that the hotel owners invest in an upgrade soon.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the pool, higher floors avoid barking dogs from the local village at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you faced with our facilities and we are happy that our service was up to your expectation. I have passed on your comments regarding the food quality to the Executive Chef.

To answer your thoughts regarding the condition of the building, the hotel has been scheduled for major refurbishment for a while now and the plans are soon to be finalized, we realize that this has been a long drawn out affair and again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused but we are seeing very positive steps being taken for this process to begin especially with the arrival of our new Hilton Serenity Beds and Flat screen TV's.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice friendly staff!! Had to wait for other customers to take us to the hotel after a 3am tiring flight
Lounge food was always out and never eneough. The lounge room was hot no air-conditioning!sometimes there were no staff to request for more food.
Rooms were dingy and worn out not too clean.
Plus was they gave complimentary fruits and cake in the rooms each day, Internet was working and fast.best experience was when I went outside to the pool area and environs outside was lovely gym was equipped and big.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaraandco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you faced with our facilities and we are happy that our service was up to your expectation. I have passed on your comments regarding the Executive Lounge to the relevant departments.

To answer your thoughts regarding the condition of the building, the hotel has been scheduled for major refurbishment for a while now and the plans are soon to be finalized, we realize that this has been a long drawn out affair and again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused but we are seeing very positive steps being taken for this process to begin especially with the arrival of our new Hilton Serenity Beds and Flat screen TV's.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

What to say? Im back in Hilton Addis Ababa.
Better experience with the front desk and receptionist,
Always had the same ugly experience with the IT guy in Hilton Addis.
Even worst experience with the business center employee, the worst/rude ever business center employee.
Certainly would like to make a comment about her, but dont think they will listen in Addis...
Only stay here for my Hilton membership status, no other reason

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay.

From reading your comment I am glad that your experience with our front office team has improved but I am dissappointed that you then faced issues with our IT department and Business Centre. I will make a point of passing your comments onto the team so that we can further improve for the future.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Hilton is a great choice for a visit to Addis Ababa. This and the Sheraton are the best hotels in the city. The Hilton is very nice with a very nice lobby and grounds surrounding the hotel. The location is great for government buildings. If you want to do some sightseeing - and visit the Cathedrals, Piazza, Mercato, etc. it is a bit far. Probably about a 45 minute walk to Piazza. But from either the Hilton or the Sheraton you'll need to take a taxi (which is very inexpensive). The bathrooms are a bit dated, but are nice. The restaurant's Ethiopian cuisine is excellent. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Addis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagherailcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will share your feedback with the relevant departments

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Montserrado, Liberia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice, clean rooms. Quiet atmosphere. Excellent service. Not far from the United Nations Conference Center. Internet is not free, though. 225 birrs or $15 USD for 24 hours. There is satellite TV, minibar, queen size bed and balcony. A nice experience for my short stay in Addis Ababa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gradiah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will share your feedback with the relevant departments.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.9 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
12.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#7 of 109 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Addis Ababa

Property: Hilton Addis Ababa
Address: Menelik II Avenue, Addis Ababa 1164, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#12 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Addis Ababa 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Addis Ababa is situated in the heart of the political capital of Africa. This landmark hotel in Ethiopia is inspired by the famous Lalibella Cross Church and is complete with its own outdoor geo-thermal swimming pool, plus an 18-hole mini-golf field. This unique hotel in Ethiopia is set on 15 acres of lush foliage, surrounded by expansive gardens. Each of the elegant guest rooms and suites offer a balcony with scenic views overlooking the gardens, mountains or the city skyline. Hilton Addis Ababa also provides a wide range of recreational options including a fitness center, tennis courts, outdoor geo-thermal pool, indoor squash court and mini-golf. Choose from a variety of restaurants and bars in Hilton Addis Ababa, offering exceptional menus, live entertainment and romantic settings. Host a meeting in one of our sophisticated event spaces or catch up with work in the business center. The hotel also features a 24-hour bank and tour operator and is the only hotel in Ethiopia with parking for more than 600 cars. Conveniently located close to Bole International Airport, this Addis Ababa hotel is situated across from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, National Palace and major ministries, and is only five minutes from the ECA conference center, the premier business destination in Ethiopia. Discover nearby attractions including Meskel Square, the Parliament building and the Ethiopian National Museum. .Highlights •15 minutes from Bole International Airport •3 meeting rooms and ballroom for up to 600 guests •6 restaurants and bars Fitness center, health club and outdoor pool •24-hour business center with translation services •Airport shuttle bus every two hours; private transportation is available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Addis Ababa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Addis Ababa Hotel Addis Ababa
Hilton International Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing