We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloppy”
Review of Churchill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Churchill Hotel
Ranked #96 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed one night in Churchill Hotel because of its location, close to where I had my business. The staff (reception and restaurant) were very nice and helpful, but other things in the hotel were rather strange.
When I came to my room late at night and opened the refrigerator/minibar there was absolutely nothing in it. Not even a bottle of water. No drinking water anywhere in the room. The bed lamp was unusable because it could not be plugged into the socket (different models: American lamp, British socket?). The wifi was terrible. And in the shower they had this monstrous contraption that squirts water in all directions (which I have seen in other Ethiopian hotels as well).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarsEriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Churchill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 69 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I paid up to the US Government limit for a room for 2 nights at Churchill. They put me in a large, comfortable room. The only drawback was the loud noise and traffic from the street--it prevented me from sleeping. Otherwise, the internet connection was reliable and fast; food was decent and staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Staff could not be more helpful and friendly, beds good quality, shower with hot water (I did not use the bath). The breakfast is rather ordinary and the food in the restaurant is fine but not a gastronomic experience. Wi-fi works fine although sometimes drops for a short while. The hotel is near a number of religious establishments and you will be woken by the dawn prayer followed some time later by the rather longer Orthodox service (I was there in Holy Week, may not be so lengthy a service otherwise). If that bothers you, suggest visiting another country instead as I have never stayed anywhere in Ethiopia where you could not hear similar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank spepmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were accidental guests at this hotel. Our morning flight from Bahir Dar to Lalibela was canceled, so Ethiopian Airlines flew us to Addis the previous evening, booked us into the Churchill, and then flew us to Lalibela in the morning.

We arrived at the Churchill in their van late in the evening, with other "refugees," and were greeted warmly by the receptionist, who told us the restaurant was still open. We had a delicious buffet meal, then retired to our very large rooms for the night. The bed was comfortable, and everything worked. We had to arise very early for our flight, so it was a too-short night's sleep, but the dining room was open and serving a full buffet breakfast.

My experience of the Churchill was all positive, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarveyL759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our overnight transit at Addis Ababa when we missed our connecting flight and had to spend a day in Addis Ababa. The airline had provided us this hotel and the room turned our to be quite spacious with an extra bed for our kid. It also had a separate sitting area though not quite a suite. We had a bathroom with a view offering a splendid view of the high rise buildings risings amidst slum like dwellings, symbolizing the developing Addis. Wifi connection was free but was very flaky. Though their business centre was also free to use. The buffet spread was underwhelming and the restaurant also didn't appeal us much. We also hired a 2 hour city tour from the hotel along with other hotels guests which turned out to be quite a damp squib. For example, instead of showing the promised Central Open Market, the guide took us to a Supermarket and said this is the biggest market! And this was just one of the gaffes. An entirely forgettable tour. And they charged us 100USD per person for this tour. But overall the hotel itself was a pleasant stay but restaurant needs a bit more polish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gags9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotels in and out of America, but I can say that I truthfully didn't expect the great service that I had received at this hotel. American hotels can learn alot form the service that Churchill has offered. I was a lil uncomfortable with one of the rooms due to one of the renters next door, so I complained to management. Without hesitation, he gave me and my wife a suite, due to the fact that he stated, "you treat my people with respect". I stated to him "we are all people" and he smiled. Definitely we will revisit our new friends soon for 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank et9bk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Room not ready at checkin (8 am) although booked.
Room looks ok as per size. Half the lights did not work. Bed was comfortable (makes a change to Addis hardboard beds). Shower was in the wrong place of the bath & so had to be hand held. Not enough towels (ie only one). Soap microscopic & liquid soap out of reach !
Breakfast below standard - minimal. Wifi ok allround. Price was $120 for Addis + 3% credit card that they hot you with at the checkout ... was worth maybe $70 by Addis standards.
Shuttle to airport was very late in turning up - with staff indifferent to the urgency.
This is an owner operated hotel ... ie no professional management.
But ,,.,.; had an excellent massage at the spa on basement ....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay1234dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 mi away
Eliana Hotel
Eliana Hotel
#21 of 120 in Addis Ababa
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ras Hotel
Ras Hotel
#92 of 120 in Addis Ababa
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Tirar International Hotel
#61 of 120 in Addis Ababa
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 120 in Addis Ababa
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Soramba
Hotel Soramba
#84 of 120 in Addis Ababa
84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel

Address: Churchill Avenue, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $69 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing