We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive architecture in Addis Ababa”

Holy Trinity Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Addis Ababa City Tour
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Impressive architecture in Addis Ababa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I made 12 visits to Addis Ababa during the last 3 and a half years and seldom find time for tourism due to my busy schedule. I did find time to visit the holy trinity cathedral and loved the stain glass and rich history. It was described to me as the Ethopian equivalent of Westminster Abbey. The honourable Halie Selassi's tomb is pretty impressive, though taking a photo can be hard as there is no flash permitted. Worth a look if you have someone knowledgeable to show you around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VGV001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    166
    65
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“For a church it's okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went to the holy trinity cathedral and loved the stain glass history. It was described to us as the ethopian equivalent of westminster abbey. So many famous people are buried there including The honourable Halie Selassi, his tomb is pretty impressive, though taking a photo can be hard as there is no flash permitted. The stainglass windows are brilliant and tell both the new and old testimate on each side. There are many other famous people buried within it's grounds. Worth a look if you have someone knowledgeable to show you around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bec b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO BE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was great visiting the Cathedral. On entry, i had to pay 50 Birr which was about $3. they allow still photography around the compound and in the church but one will have to pay an extra fee of $3 if you want to take a video of the place. The Haile Sellasie Museum which is in the cathedral does not allow any photo or videography. The late Prime Minister Meles Zenawi is buried in the cathedral compound.
Inside the cathedral itself, you will find the tombs of the Late Emperor Haile Sellasie and His wife Empress Menen.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The church has atmosphere and is well kept. When we visited this church we have reached the point where pretty was not appreciated anymore. It is our fault, not the church.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rafikiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Graveyard of X prime minister Meles Zenawi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Holy Trinity Church is mostly visited to the see the tomb of HaileSilasie/RAS TEFERI in which Rastefarianism adopted.... His najesity is found inside the cathedral decorated with Biblical murals, paintings......As the Newly died Ethiopia's First democratic Prime minister whose funeral was attenede by millions of ppl?record in Ethiopia/ , commonly called" Africa's Voice" in many world forums, MELES ZENAWI's memorial tomb and museum is found on the left side of Cathedral, It is not written in the tour guide books but you better ask where is Meles? as the church guides also forgot it untill I ask them where is the so called hero

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tadefera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Trinity Cathedral also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Holy Trinity Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing