We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siyonat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Siyonat Hotel
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Flawless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This must be one of the best hotels in Addis for the price they charge. I booked for three nights and was upgraded to a junior suite at the price of a standard room. Despite being on the second floor with a view of the street, I had no problems with noise level. The hotel is in a great location, close to the airport and on a trendy street in Bole with lots of restaurants and entertainment near-by.

What really made my stay enjoyable was the excellent staff. This hotel is intimate enough to be considered boutique-style, but the service is definitely 5-star quality. The staff was always friendly and informative, especially those at the front desk. They were helpful above and beyond what is expected, and they often helped me plan day trips or excursions at a moment's notice. The security is also excellent, with round the clock personnel and doormen at the entrance to the property.

The bar is a nice relaxing place to start your night, and it sometimes gets full with outside visitors on the weekends. The room service is very efficient and the breakfast buffet was adequate. There was always enough variety (yogurt, fruits and juices, hot foods, etc.) and someone on hand to make you fresh eggs.

I would certainly recommend this property to anyone travelling to Addis. It provides a professional yet relaxed atmosphere for business or recreational travel. I loved it so much that I booked again on my way out of Addis and received the same superb service (along with a 20% discount)!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdange248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
10
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for one week or more in June and December, 2013. When I returned for my recent second stay, the staff, including the managers, receptionists, bellboys and waitresses, welcomed me back with big smiles. I felt like royalty returning to my second home.

Since this is what I would call a smallish hotel, I never felt overwhelmed by tour groups staying or conferences being held there. The only meal I ever ate at the hotel is breakfast, which could be improved upon, but which is really okay as it is. There is plenty to choose from. Juices are always fresh and unadulterated. I found the fresh fruit to be tasteless, quite surprising given the fact that much, if not all of it, is grown in Ethiopia. Dishes such as scrambled eggs, porridge and vegetables that are provided in the big silver chafing dishes are not kept warm so are invariably tepid to cool in temperature. However, when I asked for hot porridge, it was brought to me freshly prepared from the kitchen.

The only other "complaint" I have, such as it is, is that the TVs are very small and are placed at such a distance that it is difficult to see the screen while in bed. I suspect that this was not a consideration when they were purchased. Additionally, there are relatively few channels to choose from, e.g. no BBC World or CNN, which I believe, would require the hotel to subscribe to a second satellite network. Al Jazeera is available, but it is very repetitious in its programming. hope that the hotel will consider adding to the selection of TV stations.

All in all, I recommend this hotel without hesitation and will gladly stay there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet, non-connecting, non-smoking room. The latter two requirements are not app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SML100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is near ADD international airport and provides complimentary transfers to/from it. Our room was spacious and clean. The staff was courteous and the breakfast was decent. The neighborhood is not exactly a pleasant place (like the whole city), but there are some shops and cafés nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _Rogerio_Brasilia_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed three nights at Siyonat in my first visit of Africa and Addis it was a fantastic experience. A nicely done hotel at a quite convenient location. A short walk to the train station, city center, restaurants, theatre, and the church. I will stay again in the Siyonat Hotel. Rooms are really nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: A Twin room was our perfect choice for my sister and I
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossa Milan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I had a great experience here, the service is fantastic and all the staff are very helpful. I highly recommend Siyonat if you're staying in Addis.

The food too was also great as well as the facilities....the hotel bar was also well stocked and maintained.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for seven nights - the staff were terrific, but the web site promised things they could not deliver In terms of the complaints I have seen from other travellers, the wifi does suck - not sure why since they have good routers on each floor, but reception in the room was virtually zero. Noise - yes there is a nearby club - rooms on the front are less likely to be bothered, and Sunday/Saturday are the loudest nights Breakfast - complainers need to get a life - good variety, bottomless possibilites - if you want Western breakfast, stay at home. Room was pleasant and large. Bed softer than any other I slept in in the country. Shuttle very accommodating. Would have to look hard to find a better one. Azebot misrepresented the price - so the most realistic may be to book through the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

excellent staff services, attentive to your needs, polite, humbles, very clean rooms,
only issues is very slow internet connections
good in-rooms services, dinning facility is ok,
location is excellent
excellent staff services, attentive to your needs, polite, humbles, very clean rooms,
only issues is very slow internet connections
good in-rooms services, dinning facility is ok,
location is excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashraf s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#33 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
#18 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#59 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Momona Hotel
Momona Hotel
#35 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siyonat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siyonat Hotel

Property: Siyonat Hotel
Address: Bole Medhanialem (near Edna Mall), Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Siyonat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Siyonat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing