We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel, Clean and Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Siyonat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siyonat Hotel
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Istanbul Turkey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Clean and Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A nice devoloping area, hotel is average and very simple. It is clean and decent. Rooms have all the minimums. You can prefer if you travel on a low budget and looking for a place just to sleep in. No fancy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
10
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights when passing through Addis.
This place is up to western standards, very clean, great beds and sheets, nice clean bathroom with hot shower. Prices are OK compared to the expensive rates of Addis. The location is nice, very close to Bole St., a cinema and the Trinity Church.
Food is nice (if you've craving some veggies try the Greek Salad) and in generous portions.
Staff is very helpful and welcoming.
Breakfast is pretty rich and included in room rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ornoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The last time I was in Addis two years ago, the Siyonat didn’t exist. It opened in September 2011 and is a clean, comfortable hotel in the heart of the city.

I had a Junior Suite, which was large and extremely comfortable with a couch and small kitchen with a fridge, electric kettle, and microwave. The bed was quite firm—just the way I like it—and the sheets were a very nice, heavy cotton. The room was very was quiet, which I appreciated!

The wifi was sporadic, which was annoying, and some rooms in the hotel received better service than others. I’d often have to head down to the lobby or a conference room to get service.

The hotel has a decent sized work-out room with some equipment—just 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, and weights, though as no one else was ever in the room when I was there, it probably meets their needs well.

The food was adequate. The breakfast buffet could have used a few more options, but they make you an omelet and toast if you’d like, had various rolls and a few hot items every day. I quite liked their local Ethiopian fare for lunch or dinner. There were also several cafes nearby, including the renowned Beer Garden.

I was attending a conference at the Siyonat and they had several large as well as smaller break-out rooms. The staff were quite helpful and saw to most of our needs, though the sound system wasn’t great and both the projectors which we had been promised were out of commission so we had to bring one from our office. They also told us that they didn’t have speakers, so we rented some—but then saw some big old speakers in the corner of the room.

All in all, it was a very comfortable, reasonably priced option in the heart of Addis – nothing luxurious, but clean, safe, and convenient.

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite - the rooms are significantly bigger than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addis ababa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

i have spent almost a week its` so fascinating hotel that i have ever seen in Africa,particularly its` convenient location to the airport. in general its` services provided by hotel very good.
thank you indeed.

Room Tip: specially its` convenient location to the airport and the service provided by the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Hi Everyone,

I just came back from my usual trip in Ethiopia. The last two visits over a year and half, I stayed at Damu Hotel and Harmony Hotel with good discount through azebot. Some people like staying in the same hotel, but I'm the opposite. I wanted to try something new so I found Siyonat hotel on azebot, which happens to be brand new hotel, 3 minutes from the airport. Indeed it was awesome. Great hospitality and beautiful room. Make sure you try Yoda Abisinia restaurant while you're there. You can walk to it if you don't mind walking a few blocks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DECSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Our guests who stayed at the hotel (especially the newly wed couples) informed us they entertain very personal attention from the staffs. We appreciate what we really got from the service. We believe we'll work closely in the future too.

With kind regards

Yared Mulugeta
G/Manager, Antique Tour Plc

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhonsborge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was at siyonat hotel, couple of days on the month of February. The hotel staffs are very nice. however, on my stay i met the hotel owner every day and every time at the lobby no manager at all in the hotel even i tried to meet the General manger but i couldn't, and he promised to allow me half day stay without charge by saying yes yes good good but it was not applicable even he didn't understand what my request is. additionally at the check out date he was only look USD dollar on my hand. He didn't allow me to pay in local currency. The reception scared to assist me because of the owner. it was my first experience in my travel history.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
#14 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#17 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#29 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#65 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#19 of 117 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siyonat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siyonat Hotel

Property: Siyonat Hotel
Address: Bole Medhanialem (near Edna Mall), Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Siyonat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siyonat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing