We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near the Airport”
Review of Molla Guest House

Molla Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molla Guest House
Ranked #126 of 296 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We arrived in Addis Ababa at 4 am and were advised to wait at the airport till 6 am when it would be daylight and the taxis would start operating.  The visa process was easy and efficient.  The ATM did not dispense any cash but we were able to change some money.  There is a simple coffee shop which was open and served excellent coffee.  The two hours passed by very quickly.
The Molla Guesthouse could not be closer to the airport.  One can walk there in about 15 minutes or less.  However, with luggage, it was a good idea to take a cab.  We received a warm welcome and were assigned a room facing the street.  At first we thought we would be bothered by the street noise but we slept well each night and our room on the second floor made for great people watching. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom measured up to our standards.  There is a flat screen TV in the room and the guesthouse provides Free WiFi.  Breakfast is served in the room each morning and you have a choice of eggs, pancakes, waffles, coffee and fresh orange juice.
The Molla Guesthouse is located right above a German Bakery where you can get excellent coffee, croissants, and great burgers.  There are several Ethiopian restaurants nearby and the Edna Mall is a 10 minute walk where you will find an ATM, a movie theatre, and other restaurants. 
Our first day in Addis happened to be a Sunday and we were fortunate that the manager of the guesthouse, Teddy, offered to take us on a short tour of the city.  It was a great introduction to Addis Ababa.
All in all we spent over a month in Addis and got to know the staff at the reception desk really well.  They are very professional and extremely helpful.  We would highly recommend the Molla Guesthouse.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SadhusWithiPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have stayed in Molla Guest House on several occassions and I would heartily recommend this family run property. It is more of a boutique hotel than a guest house and the hotel is beautifully maintained and clean with wooden floors and rugs. It is in a great location just under 1km from the Medhan-e-alam church with banks, shops and good cafes in the vicinity. The hotel provides complimentary internet access which actually works. The restuarant also serves great food which is cooked fresh and staff are always on hand to cater for special requests. There is a great family atmosphere in this hotel. They serve excellent authentic fresh ethiopian coffee on site too and staff are very friendly and approachable. Unusual for a hotel in Addis, each room has an exercise bike, a small fridge and cooker and a terrace to enjoy the pleasent evenings.

I had my reservation mixed up once and when i checked in I was informed that no rooms were available. The hotel manager, Tadile, immediately made arrangements for me to stay in one of the other hotels and made arrangements for my luggage to be moved. He also sent me a written apology which was very nice.

I would highly recommend this property and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms can be noisy. Ask for the middle rooms as they are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank netbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wasserdruck obere Etage schlecht, Zimmer zur Strasse etwas lauter aber heller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nassimadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 127 in Addis Ababa
143 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 127 in Addis Ababa
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 127 in Addis Ababa
453 reviews
0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#19 of 127 in Addis Ababa
244 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#13 of 127 in Addis Ababa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molla Guest House

Address: Cameroon Street 2221 | P.O.Box 12286, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alluring, Accommodating, Affordable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing