We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks at GT”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GT Guest House & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 249 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two weeks at GT over the Christmas holidays. Outside of a few minor issues (parking, low water pressure on the third floor in the morning), the experience was great. Lee and the staff were very sweet and the coffee ceremony every week in the sitting room was a nice touch.

Staying at GT is a bit like having your own place in Addis, except that you didn't have to hire a cleaning woman, organize breakfast every day, restock the fridge with beer and water, set up internet and utility service...so a pretty easy lifestyle, all in all.

Also, sitting on the upstairs deck and watching the kites (birds) in the afternoon and the blue birds in the early morning is quite lovely.

Room Tip: You can rent an entire floor. Not a bad option if you have more than two persons in your group.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65peter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for GT Guest House & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

As other reviewers have pointed out, Lee is friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Check out was well before my evening flight, but Lee was very accommodating in offering to store my luggage and allowing me the use of the living room. I was most struck by the friendliness of the staff, many of whom "lit up" in greeting--even when I ran into them outside of the guest house. It's a very nice sense of community.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I definitely recommend this spot for anyone traveling to Addis. Lee, the owner, offers great customer service, and the rooms are clean, spacious, and have reliable hot water. Good food, great coffee ceremony. Would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the GT Guesthouse this past October and had a fantastic stay. We stayed in an apartment style room, with a huge living room, fully equipped kitchen, a very spacious master bedroom with an en-suite bathroom, and a 2nd smaller bedroom with an adjacent bathroom.

We also came to Addis in August and stayed at two different guesthouses - one of which was OK, the other of which was horrible - and for my entire stay in October I kept wishing that we'd stayed at GT. I think it would have vastly improved our first trip.

Lee and the other staff were awesome in taking care of us. Everyone was very friendly and helpful with whatever we needed. An excellent breakfast was brought to our dining area each morning. THe WiFi was reliable and fast (not the case at our previous 2 guesthouses).

Great location too - in central Addis, but off on a side street so no road noise.

Looking forward to a return trip soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacificatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had the opportunity to spend 3 lovely nights in this beautiful guest house. The hospitality started right from the Airport Pickup. Everything was perfect & wonderful. Cheching was so smooth and fast. Wide and clean rooms, comfortable beds. Breakfast was superp and variety was awsome! , service and hospitality was unmatchable. location is perfect and safe, very close to many shops, Banks, taxis, etc. decent quite and no disturbunce at all at all times.
We had an early checkin and late checkout. Ms Lewam and her staff provided us proffessional service and home hospitality.
Lewam I am very greatful for all that you provided to us during this short stay, i m really proud of you. I am looking for my next visit which will be probably by the end of this month.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hadi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I did like this place. I would wake up in the night, walk out onto the porch/balcony, and listen to the sounds. The food every morning was good and plentiful. Very short walking distance to bottled water, many banks, stores, foods, taxis (minibus). Very good location.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view plus you get a nice exercise and occasional breathlessness...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was in addis ababa for about a week and though I had been in Africa a lot, had not been in Ethiopia. I found this guest house, clean, comfortable, safe, friendly staff, big diverse breakfast every day. Lee the desk manager speaks very good english.The staff was acommodating to different schedule requests. It is not right near town center but can get there easily by taxi and maybe bus. But there are banks, supermarkets and restaurants close by. The only negative was that the room seemed much smaller that the pictures online but is was not a problem. I would stay there again if in Addis.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisapi814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.9 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 120 in Addis Ababa
231 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 120 in Addis Ababa
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 120 in Addis Ababa
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 120 in Addis Ababa
273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 120 in Addis Ababa
763 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GT Guest House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GT Guest House & Apartments

Address: Sierra Leone Street | Beklo Bet, Coming From Meskel Square, Take a Right Turn Between Oromia Bank and Commerical Bank , Pass St. George Club Then Turn Left, Addis Ababa 21836, 1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $43 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GT GUEST HOUSE & Apartments provides the best accommodation for the business or leisure traveler as well as for family/group requirements at an affordable rate. We offer the most comfortable resting experience in one of the safest and finest areas in all of Addis Ababa. We are located about 10 minutes from Bole airport and less than 5 minutes away from city center, Meskel Square. Easy access to train, taxi and other public transportation. We are also located within walking distance to cafe's, supermarkets, great restaurants, banks,ATM's, bookstores, clinics, and hospitals.Each floor has 2 or 3 bedrooms with comfortable king/queen/twin size beds, 3 bathrooms, very spacious living/dinning room, spacious fully equipped kitchen,and spacious balcony. All Living rooms have, sofa, dinning table, TV and french style patio doors with balcony for you to enjoy natural light. Master rooms are equipped with en-suite bathroom and standard rooms with private bath located outside of the bedrooms, on the same floor & its own water heater. We have discounts for groups,families and for reservation over 10 nights, and additional discounts long term stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing