We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the Cool People Stay Here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GT Guest House & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 213 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wenzhou, Zhejiang, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the Cool People Stay Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

As other reviewers have pointed out, Lee is friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Check out was well before my evening flight, but Lee was very accommodating in offering to store my luggage and allowing me the use of the living room. I was most struck by the friendliness of the staff, many of whom "lit up" in greeting--even when I ran into them outside of the guest house. It's a very nice sense of community.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
15
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I definitely recommend this spot for anyone traveling to Addis. Lee, the owner, offers great customer service, and the rooms are clean, spacious, and have reliable hot water. Good food, great coffee ceremony. Would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the GT Guesthouse this past October and had a fantastic stay. We stayed in an apartment style room, with a huge living room, fully equipped kitchen, a very spacious master bedroom with an en-suite bathroom, and a 2nd smaller bedroom with an adjacent bathroom.

We also came to Addis in August and stayed at two different guesthouses - one of which was OK, the other of which was horrible - and for my entire stay in October I kept wishing that we'd stayed at GT. I think it would have vastly improved our first trip.

Lee and the other staff were awesome in taking care of us. Everyone was very friendly and helpful with whatever we needed. An excellent breakfast was brought to our dining area each morning. THe WiFi was reliable and fast (not the case at our previous 2 guesthouses).

Great location too - in central Addis, but off on a side street so no road noise.

Looking forward to a return trip soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacificatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had the opportunity to spend 3 lovely nights in this beautiful guest house. The hospitality started right from the Airport Pickup. Everything was perfect & wonderful. Cheching was so smooth and fast. Wide and clean rooms, comfortable beds. Breakfast was superp and variety was awsome! , service and hospitality was unmatchable. location is perfect and safe, very close to many shops, Banks, taxis, etc. decent quite and no disturbunce at all at all times.
We had an early checkin and late checkout. Ms Lewam and her staff provided us proffessional service and home hospitality.
Lewam I am very greatful for all that you provided to us during this short stay, i m really proud of you. I am looking for my next visit which will be probably by the end of this month.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
78660
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I did like this place. I would wake up in the night, walk out onto the porch/balcony, and listen to the sounds. The food every morning was good and plentiful. Very short walking distance to bottled water, many banks, stores, foods, taxis (minibus). Very good location.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view plus you get a nice exercise and occasional breathlessness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was in addis ababa for about a week and though I had been in Africa a lot, had not been in Ethiopia. I found this guest house, clean, comfortable, safe, friendly staff, big diverse breakfast every day. Lee the desk manager speaks very good english.The staff was acommodating to different schedule requests. It is not right near town center but can get there easily by taxi and maybe bus. But there are banks, supermarkets and restaurants close by. The only negative was that the room seemed much smaller that the pictures online but is was not a problem. I would stay there again if in Addis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisapi814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califonria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed 3 nights + a late checkout. I had a large room on the 1st floor with a shared living room, balcony & kitchen. I actually had the floor to myself as I was the only guest on the floor. Lee and her staff provided excellent service and information about sightseeing, taxis, places to get good Ethiopian coffee, etc. As other have pointed out, they serve a hot, rather large breakfast. If you're there on a Sunday, be sure to participate in the coffee ceremony.I can't say enough about how helpful, friendly and honest the staff were. One day when I went out I accidentally left my change purse with all my Ethiopian money inside in my room, out in the open. When I returned, all the money was still there. They even cleaned my muddy shoes before I went to the airport, at no charge though I offered to pay.
GT isn't centrally located in Addis. It's a good walk (20 min or so) to Meskel Sq where you can catch a taxi to the University or Piazza, a little pricy (80-150 birr)--be sure to bargain. I would definitely use GT again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalTrvlngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.1 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#10 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GT Guest House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GT Guest House & Apartments

Property: GT Guest House & Apartments
Address: Sierra Leone Street (Debreziet Road) | Beklo Bet, Coming From Meskel Square, Take a Right Turn Between Oromia Bank and Commerical Bank , Pass St. George Club Then Turn Left, Addis Ababa 21836, 1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GT GUEST HOUSE & Apartments provides the best accommodation for the business or leisure traveler as well as for family/group requirements at an affordable rate. We offer the most comfortable resting experience in one of the safest and finest areas in all of Addis Ababa. We are located about 10 minutes from Bole airport and less than 5 minutes away from city center, Meskel Square. Easy access to train, taxi and other public transportation. We are also located within walking distance to cafe's, supermarkets, great restaurants, banks,ATM's, bookstores, clinics, and hospitals.Each floor has 2 or 3 bedrooms with comfortable king/queen/twin size beds, 3 bathrooms, very spacious living/dinning room, spacious fully equipped kitchen,and spacious balcony. All Living rooms have, sofa, dinning table, TV and french style patio doors with balcony for you to enjoy natural light. Master rooms are equipped with en-suite bathroom and standard rooms with private bath located outside of the bedrooms, on the same floor & its own water heater. We have discounts for groups,families and for reservation over 10 nights, and additional discounts long term stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing