We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Pakistani food!!”

Four Seasons Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 256 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Four Seasons Restaurant is 4/years old, a good option for locals and expatriates wanting a different dining scene in Addis Ababa. The menu offers authentic Japanese cuisine, as one of the owner/partner is also the Chef, he is Pakistani, but trained in the refinements of Japanese cooking making his menu authentic Japanese taste. We parked along the road infront of the restaurant, The restaurant is clean, service staff polite and speaks English, and ample space for families, group of friends and children. A good place to hang out.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pakistani food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This little gem was a fantastic treat. The food was delicious, the service was outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommendable!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    14
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice sushi, where is the Pakastani food?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went to the Four Seasons with ambitions to please everyone in our party, with a selection of Thai, Japanese and Pakistani food. Perhaps since one of the previous reviews the Pakistani food has been removed from the menu. That was disappointing. Service was a bit slow, but then, as everything is freshly made, we didn't mind the wait. The sushi was of very good quality and my children enjoyed the fried rice and especially the agedashi tofu; we started with 2 orders and ended up ordering 4 before the meal was finished. The stir-fried vegetables were fresh and tasty, but having been to Thailand multiple times, we found they were about 85% on-the mark for authentic Thai flavor. If back in Addis, we would eat at the Four Seasons for Japanese again. We did find this our most expensive meal in Addis, strange, since we are vegetarians. Bring back the Pakistani food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
667 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Good food, but very slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The restaurant tries to cover much of Asia, with separate pages in the menu for Japanese, Thai, and Pakistani cuisine. Everything was tasty and freshly prepared, but we had to wait over an hour for our food. Portions are small, so order accordingly. Also, be clear about how spicy you want the food to be.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service and Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

One of my absolute favorite restaurants in Addis. Great Thai and Japanese food, though in my opinion, the best dishes are the pakistani ones. Try the mutton karahi - one of the best meals I've had in Addis.

Beyond the quality of food, the restaurant offers lovely ambiance and the best service I've experienced in Addis. The waitstaff is friendly and attentive as is the owner. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Also good: pad thai, thai curries, tom yum soup, spring rolls

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pineapple, coconut curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Four Seasons is a real (and really expensive) gem in Addis and I am so lucky to live just done the street from it. The mixed Japanese, Thai and Pakistani menu can give the wrong impression of a restaurant that wants too many things. I have tried a number of the starters and the Thai curries and I really enjoy them. The portions are not massive, so you should order a main for each person unless you take many starters. The miso soup is my favorite with generous amounts of tofu and seaweed. The starter tofu is also very nice. My favorite on the menu is the pineapple coconut curry. I also really like the atmosphere of the place and the very attentive service. Be prepared to pay at least Birr 300 for drinks, starter and a main.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Seasons Restaurant also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Four Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing