We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad - close to airport”
Review of Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Hotel
Ranked #59 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I rate this a 4, because I'd stay at the Pacific Hotel again.

Here are its good points:

- a very friendly and helpful staff.
- comfortable beds
- inexpensive, good value

Here are its weak points:

- very slow and unreliable Internet
- buffet meals lack variety
- menu is limited
- single rooms are tiny

I stayed here for two weeks. The staff was wonderful, they became friends.

The hotel is in a residential area, so there is no street noise. Of course you have the frequent Muslim calls to prayer and the nocturnal barking of the dogs to hamper your sleep... But this is Africa!

If you don't mind walking on dirt roads through a lower class neighborhood, you can get to the shops and Kaldie's coffee in about 15 minutes. Take a flashlight / torch if you go in the evening - it will be very dark on your walk back.

As I mentioned, the Internet service is lacking... in the lobby it isn't too awful, but in the rooms it is slow and the IP addresses get used up quickly. (hint: opposite the elevator on every floor is a wireless router, when nobody is looking, unplug it for several seconds to allow it to reboot...then rush back to your computer and connect!)

When you arrive at the airport, if you are expecting to meet the hotel transportation van, do not expect to see them holding a sign when you exit immigration and customs. Only the hotels that pay to have a presence inside the airport can meet you there. Instead, go outside, with all of yor luggage, and cross the car lane, continue on the ramp down the hill to the parking lot. There are scores of vans waiting there. Simply ask for the van from Pacific Hotel, and you'll be set. If not, then a taxi is $15 (US) - taxis are very expensive in Addis, while most everything else is very inexpensive.

For the price, it's not bad at all. If you want fancy, world class accommodations, then book the Sheraton or the Intercontinental - both are superb, and expensive.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank joesindorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Pacific Hotel offers clean rooms, doubles are spacious, singles very cramped. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. Internet is fairly reliable in common areas. Sadly, the food is risky. Maybe watering the juice? Or just not taking care with preparation? I was not the only one in our group to feel its effects. If you are staying here before setting out on a trip around Ethiopia, follow all the safe food rules or you may be sorry!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GailLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff makes this hotel a very pleasant place to stay! Rooms are clean and conveniently arranged. With a more reliable internet provider this hotel would be just perfect for me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The Location of the hotel is very near to Bole Aierport, the rooms are clean, and more of all that the workers are very hospitable and wel coming. When I stay in Pacific I fill thet I am Home...

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
4  Thank Bayush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria11116213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mascris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.9 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 124 in Addis Ababa
143 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 124 in Addis Ababa
803 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#1 of 124 in Addis Ababa
449 reviews
3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#17 of 124 in Addis Ababa
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#12 of 124 in Addis Ababa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel

Address: Dessei Road 808 | Lamberet, Bole sub-city, Addis Ababa 9867, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 124 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $59 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Hotel is a newly established five story building perfectly located in a quite district of Bole Subcity only a few minutes drive away from Bole International Airport. Pacific has 45 elegant & well decorated rooms that provide panoramic views of Yeha / Yerer Mountains & a nice airport view during the night time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing