We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Addis Regency Hotel
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place , average food though lovely internet , be warned no air conditioning! you get free shuttle transfers , helpful front desk too, visit the church on the hill and drink local coffee.Take cash because credit card machines don't work well , take dollars not euros nor pounds you get lower value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twigblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Addis Regency Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 423 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Addis Regency hotel for our one night layover before heading to Lalibella. The Regency is a good value because they pick you up from the airport in their shuttle and this is included in the room rate. The other hotels we looked at were charging around 20 USD each way for the airport transfer, which increased the expense and made the Regency our choice. The rooms have everything that you need, and the shower was hot. There were some things in the room that needed to be fixed, like cracks in the walls and a very squeaky bathroom door. Also, it is worth mentioning that the hotel was very noisy when we were there. The hallway is not carpeted and so you can hear other guests walking up and down the stairs and doors slamming. Our room was close to the stairs and we were woken up by other guests in the night. We also heard from other travelers that there is a noisy disco that operates on Friday and Saturday nights that kept them awake. There is a nice restaurant and breakfast is included. Overall this may not be the place to get a quiet sleep, but the value of the amenities of the hotel were excellent.

Room Tip: A room away from the stairs may be quieter
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is lovely. Clean, comfortable rooms, nice public areas and well-maintained facilities. The staff are polite, professional and attentive, the food is simple and good (and available 24 hours, which is great for arriving late or departing early, which seems to happen a lot in Addis) and there's a decent selection of drinks in the modest bar and lounge area. Good Wifi throughout. Will definitely stay here whenever we're in Addis and will be recommending it to our friends. An excellent choice.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank awaferthinmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Checked in for two nights prior to heading north for a trek and the hotel has been excellent.

Rooms are clean and modern and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a mix of Ethiopian and western food.

But what I liked best was that the hotel is a family affair with Mac the owner (Canadian Ethiopian) a friendly fellow running the show - supported by his wife and daughters and the rest of the very patient and friendly staff.

I'd highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Addis.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night after an 8-night tour of the north of Ethiopia. Pre-arranged airport pickup to the hotel worked great. Front desk staff friendly, efficient and welcoming. Wi-fi worked great throughout the hotel. Large, clean room with a nice bathroom and plentiful hot water. Really appreciated the fact that there were screens on the windows.

Had a couple of meals at the lobby restaurant which were well prepared and reasonably priced. Neighborhood seemed decent enough. Was able to watch the staff dote over some of the many families with children staying at the hotel.

A great short stay for me at the Addis Regency -- would have loved to have stayed longer! Recommended highly as a great place to stay in Addis.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHappyTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackmekonnen, Owner at Addis Regency Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

It was such a great pleasure to here from you, our management and staff enjoyed serving you and your group very much, hearing from you brought a great memory all over again, your on going presence in our part of the world has touched many of our young men and women then and now,it was your group that inspired many of us to want to go to the great western nations, speak like you, treat the haves and the have not's equally, to learn and teach and explore, thank you and God Bless.

Mekonnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

50th anniversary of the Peace Corps in Ethiopia. Warm welcome. Great friendly service. Good dining room. Left for 6 days and left laundry. Returned, laundry and left luggage in our room.
Morning we left for 6 day trip, staff fixed breakfast at 4:30am. Internet worked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peacecorpsreunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed there with my wife and daughter from 21st to 22nd February. My wife and daughter ahd been there for two weeks prior. They collect you in a brand new bus from the airport and drop you back off there on departure at no extra cost. From the gateman to the front desk, the staff are so welcoming and fantasic with kids. The owner and his daughter are wonderful people and really took to our daughter and made a huge fuss of her.The buffet breakfast is varied and good quality. The rooms are spacious and there is plenty of hot water, which is sometimes a probem in Addis hotels.
We have already made plans to stay there again for our next visit next month.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
3.6 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 120 in Addis Ababa
273 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 120 in Addis Ababa
231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 120 in Addis Ababa
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 120 in Addis Ababa
763 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sidra International Hotel
Sidra International Hotel
#7 of 120 in Addis Ababa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Regency Hotel

Address: K. 03/19 H. no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $59 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addis Regency Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Arada region, Addis Regency Hotel offers 30 Standard/Deluxe rooms and 3 Executive Suites. Each spacious room offers International satellite TV, steam box showers and complimentary buffet breakfast. Conveniently situated near the Entoto Mountains, Piazza, National Museums, Addis Ababa University and other attractions; Addis Regency is a unique first class hotel amongst its peers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ethiopia, Addis Regency ...Where Distance Meets Comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Addis Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing